Press Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE -- February 20, 2020
Kevin Kelly (573) 751-9300

Commissioner Coleman Appointed to NARUC
Broadband Expansion Task Force

JEFFERSON CITY---Commissioner Maida Coleman has been appointed by the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) to serve on the newly created Broadband Expansion Task Force. The announcement was made by NARUC President Brandon Presley during the NARUC Winter Policy Summit in Washington, D.C.

“The availability of broadband service in underserved areas is of critical importance,” said Presley in a NARUC press release. “I am pleased to have assembled an excellent team of commissioners, each of whom bring exceptional perspectives and expertise to the issue. Broadband is the electricity of the future.”

“Millions of Americans living in rural areas and small communities face numerous economic and social barriers as a result of not being able to access broadband internet. I look forward to collaborating with stakeholders to identify ways we can expand affordable broadband access across the country,” said Commissioner Coleman.

Commissioner Coleman is Chair of the NARUC Committee on Consumers and the Public Interest. She also serves on NARUC’s Board of Directors and the Telecommunications and Supplier and Workforce Diversity Committees. Commissioner Coleman is a member of NARUC and the U.S. Department of Energy’s Natural Gas Infrastructure Modernization Partnership. In addition, she is a member of the Critical Consumer Issues Forum Advisory Committee and the Center for Public Utilities Advisory Council.

Founded in 1889, NARUC is a non-profit organization dedicated to representing the state public service commissions who regulate the utilities that provide essential services such as energy, telecommunications, power, water and transportation. NARUC’s members include all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.

Commissioner Coleman was appointed to the Missouri Public Service Commission by Governor Jay Nixon, effective August 10, 2015. She was unanimously confirmed by the Missouri State Senate on January 21, 2016.


External / Internet