Press Release

Kevin Kelly (573) 751-9300

PSC Sets Intervention Deadline in Spire Missouri, Inc.
Infrastructure Surcharge (ISRS) Request

JEFFERSON CITY---Spire Missouri, Inc. (Spire) has filed an application with the Missouri Public Service Commission seeking to adjust the infrastructure system replacement surcharge (ISRS) on the bills of its Spire West (formerly Laclede Gas Company d/b/a Missouri Gas Energy) natural gas customers.  The surcharge first appeared on customer bills in April 2004.

Spire seeks the adjustment to reflect infrastructure replacement investments made by the natural gas company from February 1, 2019 through May 31, 2019, and October 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018 to the extent the costs associated with those investments were not approved for recovery in Case Nos. GO-2018-0309 and GO-2018-0310.  These costs for natural gas pipeline replacements and relocations are not currently included in Spire’s rates.

The current ISRS for residential customers of Spire West is $1.79 a month.  Residential customers would pay an ISRS of $2.72 a month under Spire’s application. 

Applications to intervene and participate in this case must be filed no later than July 26, 2019, with the Secretary of the Missouri Public Service Commission, P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102, or by using the Commission’s Electronic Filing and Information System (EFIS) at

Individual citizens wishing to comment should contact either the Office of the Public Counsel (Governor Office Building, 200 Madison Street, Suite 650, P.O. Box 2230, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102-2230, telephone (866) 922-2959, email or the Public Service Commission Staff (P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102, telephone 1-800-392-4211, email  The Office of the Public Counsel is a separate state agency that represents the general public in matters before the Commission. 

Spire West provides natural gas service to approximately 513,180 customers in Andrew, Barry, Barton, Bates, Buchanan, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Christian, Clay, Clinton, Dade, DeKalb, Greene, Henry, Howard, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Lafayette, Lawrence, McDonald, Moniteau, Pettis, Platte, Ray, Saline, Stone and Vernon counties.
External / Internet