
Relay Surcharge Instructions  

The Relay Missouri Surcharge (Surcharge) is authorized by Chapter 209, Revised 
Statutes of Missouri. The Surcharge is reviewed (and may change) not more often than 
yearly, and not less often than every two years. Companies are required to apply the 
Surcharge amount to each access line or equivalent (up to 100 access lines at any one 
customer location). Companies are allowed to deduct from the Surcharge collected, a 
retention amount equal to up to $30.00, or 1% of the Surcharge collected, whichever is 
greater. If the total Surcharge collected is less than $30.00, Companies may keep the 
amount collected for that month, but are entitled to no further payment for that month. 
For example, if the total Surcharge collected amounts to $23.40 in a given month, the 
company would keep the $23.40, and would be entitled to no further payment for that 
month. The Surcharge in excess of the retention amount should be sent to: Missouri 
Public Service Commission, Budget & Fiscal Services, P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, 
Missouri.  
 
The Deaf Relay Service Fee Form is to be submitted with the monthly Surcharge 
remittance. The form can be printed and filled in manually with a pen or typewriter. If 
you have questions, please call Dana Parish at 573.526.4777.  
 
 


