

Modular Unit Manufacturer Packet

Missouri Public Service Commission – Manufactured Housing Department

Enclosed in this packet you will find an Application for Manufacturer Registration and other helpful forms. The manufacturer registration requirements and form information is outlined below.

REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS: Registrations will be REJECTED if all of the documentation is not received, application is not complete, and all Monthly Seals of Compliance reports have not been received.

- Application for Manufacturer Registration This form must be completed in full, signed, dated and include the title of individual signing the form. An additional sheet may be attached for Section G Names and Addresses of All Officers and Directors of the Corporation.
- Registration Fee Please submit a check or money order in the amount of \$750 payable to the Missouri Director of Revenue. Each manufacturing plant must be registered separately, each paying a separate registration fee.
- Affidavit Corporations only must submit an affidavit verifying that whoever is applying for the registration has corporate authority to do so. A sample affidavit is attached for your convenience.
- <u>Statement of No Taxes Due</u> <u>Missouri Corporations</u> only must submit a Statement of No Taxes Due which can be obtained from contacting the Missouri Department of Revenue @ 573-751-9268.
- ▲ <u>Certificate of Good Standing</u> <u>Missouri Corporations</u> only must submit a Certificate of Good Standing which can be obtained from contacting the Missouri Secretary of State @ 573-751-4153.
- Articles of Incorporation All corporations must submit a copy of their Articles of Incorporation for the initial registration only. The Articles of Incorporation are not required to be resubmitted for renewal applications unless the documentation has changed.
- Corporation By-Laws All corporations only must submit a copy of the Corporation By-Laws for the <u>initial</u> registration only. The By-Laws are not required to be resubmitted for renewal applications unless the documents have changed.
- ▲ <u>Manufacturers</u> must be registered with the Missouri Secretary of State's Office pursuant to 4 CSR 240-123.040. Contact the Secretary of State's Office @ 573-751-4153 or <u>www.sos.mo.gov</u> to become registered. A copy of those registration documents must be submitted with your manufacturer application
- ▲ Quality Control Manual Pursuant to 4CSR 240-123.040 (E) & (F), a QC Manual must be submitted along with the registration application documentation and appropriate fees (\$150 manual, \$750 manufacturer registration) through a Third Party Agency for approval. For renewals only: if the QC Manual has not changed from the previous year, the "approved" stamped copy of the Plan ApprovalForm from the year before may be submitted in lieu of the whole manual. The \$150 QC Manual processing fee and forms for the current year are still required and must go through your Third Party Agency for approval.

FORM INFORMATION:

- ▲ <u>Seals of Compliance Form</u> This form must be completed and submitted each month to the Missouri Public Service Commission by the <u>tenth</u> day of the following month reporting the seals used for the previous month. This report needs to be submitted every month, even if no seals were used during that month. Also, when submitting reports, do not combine reports for multiple months; each month must be reported on a separate sheet. Please make additional copies of the form as needed.
- Application for Seals This form must be used to purchase Missouri Public Service Commission Seals. Please allow five to seven working days for the seals to be processed.
- ▲ <u>Plan Approval Application & Plan Review Forms</u> These forms must be used when submitting Plans and Quality Control Manuals for approval. Make sure the forms are complete, signed and dated prior to submission to your Third Party Agency for approval. Third Party Agencies will forward them to the department.
- ► Plan Approval Checklist This form is intended to be used as a guide for preparing submittals of the Plan and Quality Control Manual approvals to the Missouri Public Service Commission.
- ▲ <u>Third Party Inspection Agency List</u> This is a list of Third Party Inspection Agencies approved by the Missouri Public Service Commission to review and approve Plans and Quality Control Manuals for compliance with current state building codes.

Mail to: Missouri Public Service Commission

Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program

P.O. Box 360

Jefferson City, MO 65102

Phone: 800-819-3180 Fax: 573-522-2509

Web Page: www.psc.mo.gov; (click on Manufactured Housing)

Revised: 05/10/18



Missouri Public Service Commission Application for Manufacturer Registration Please fill the form out completely and legibly.

PSC OFFICE USE ONLY Transmittal Number Check Number Check Amount							
CORPORATIONS, Please Read Section A and Complete Sections B, C, D, E, F, G							
	IF NOT A CORPORATION BY TO THE ATTENDANCE OF A STATE OF						
IMPORTAN	NT: PURSUANT TO 4 CSR 24	0-123-040. MANUFACTUR!	FRS MUST BE REGISTER	RED WITH THE MISSOURI SECRETARY OF			
STATE OF		V.SOS.MO.GOV). PROOF	OF REGISTRATION MUS	T BE SUBMITTED WITH YOUR			
				DIN"SECTION D" MUST MATCH EXACTLY			
"SECTION		ATE REGISTRATION. IF I	NOT A CORPORATION, IN	IFORMATION MUST MATCH EXACTLY WITH			
SECTION A	GENERAL INFORMATION	wate we sintuction with the Ot.	ata of Missouri				
	facturing plant must file a sepa ration Fee is \$750 for each ma	•	ate of Missouri.				
	ration Certificate is valid for a p		late of issuance.				
	k payable to: Missouri Director						
SECTION B	PLEASE COMPLETE THE F						
□ New □ R	enewal (Please X the appropriate	box.)	If renewal, Registration Number				
Manufacturer Type	☐ Manufactured Home M	anufacturer Modular	Unit Manufacturer (Ple	ase X the appropriate box.)			
SECTION C	MANUFACTURER'S FACIL	LITY INFORMATION					
Facility Name							
Contact Name		Contact Email Ac	ddress				
Facility Address							
Facility City/State/Zi	р						
Phone Number		Fax Number		FEIN			
SECTION D	MANUFACTURER'S CORPO	ORATE INFORMATION	☐ Check here	e if corporate information is the same as above.			
Corporate Name				State of Incorporation			
Contact Name		Contact Email Ac	ddress	1			
Corporate Address							
Corporate City/State	/Zip						
Phone Number			Fax Number	x Number			
SECTION E	NAME, TITLE, AND ADDRE	SS OF PERSON RESPONS	SIBLE FOR OPERATION (OF FACILITY			
Name	· ·	Title	Address				
CECTION E	NAME TITLE AND ADDE	CC OF OFFICERS AND DI	DECTORS OF THE CORD	ODATION //f			
SECTION F NAME, TITLE, AND ADDRESS OF OFFICERS AND DIRECTORS OF THE CORPORATION				JRATION (If necessary, attach sneet)			
Name		Title	Address				
SECTION G	Signature		Title	Date			
PLEASE MAIL COMPLETED APPLICATION & FEE TO: Missouri Public Service Commission Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program P.O. Box 360; Jefferson City, MO 65102 or 200 Madison Street, 5th Floor, Jefferson City, MO 65101		PHONE: 800-819-3180 FAX: 573-522-2509 EMAIL: manhouse@psc.m WEB PAGE: www.psc.m	no.gov o.gov/manufactured-housing/				

AFFIDAVIT

State of			
County of			
Name			
Address			
	pon his or her oath tha		
I am the	of	Company Name	, and I am
	full authority to execut		
Certificate of Registra	ation on behalf of	Company Na	me .
		Signed	
Subscribed and swor	rn to before me this	day of _{Day} Mo	nth Year
		Notary Pu	blic
Commission Expires	·		



Missouri Public Service Commission

MAIDA J. COLEMAN Commissioner

GLEN KOLKMEYER
Commissioner

KAYLA HAHN Chair

POST OFFICE BOX 360 JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 65102 573-751-3234 573-751-1847 (Fax Number) http://psc.mo.gov JASON R. HOLSMAN Commissioner

JOHN P. MITCHELL Commissioner

Important Information Bulletin

TO: Missouri Modular Manufacturers, Dealers, and Third-Party Agencies

FROM: David Freeman, Program Manager

Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program

RE: Missouri Modular Building Code Changes

Several updates and changes have been made to the Missouri Code of State Regulations governing modular units Chapter 123 - 20 CSR 4240-123. Prior approved existing modular units will be valid until May 30, 2025. **Effective November 30, 2024**, new codes were adopted and all new modular unit models must be constructed to the criteria set forth in the 2021 International Building Code, the 2021 International Plumbing Code, the 2021 International Mechanical Code, the 2021 International Fuel Gas Code, the 2021 International Residential Code, the 2021 International Energy Code and the 2020 National Electric Code NFPA 70 NEC.

Effective immediately, begin using the new forms as new models are to be constructed to the new codes. These forms are available on our webpage at: www.psc.mo.gov; click on the manufactured housing tab, manufacturer information link.

<u>Please note that modular units must be completed structures and must be tagged with a code compliance seal before being shipped and sold in the State of Missouri.</u>

ATTENTION MISSOURI DEALERS AND MANUFACTURERS:

- Every dealer or manufacturer who sells a modular home to be placed in Missouri is required to have the purchaser
 of the modular unit sign and date an acknowledgement/waiver that the dealer or manufacturer has offered the fire
 sprinkler system in conjunction with the sale of the home. The acknowledgement/waiver must be signed by both the
 purchaser and the dealer or manufacturer or his/her legal representative. The purchaser is responsible for the cost
 of the fire sprinkler system being installed in the home.
- Dealers who sell modular structures are responsible for the proper and initial set up of all modular structures.
- If you have any questions, please contact our office at 1-800-819-3180.



THIRD PARTY AGENCIES

The Firms listed below are certified as authorized representatives of the Missouri Public Service Commission Pursuant to Section 700.040.1 RSMo.

T.R. Arnold & Associates, Inc.

4703 Chester Dr. Elkhart, IN 46516 Phone: 574-264-0745

HWC Engineering

1627 South Myrtle Avenue Clearwater, FL 33756 Phone: 727-584-8151

Gulf Coast Modular Consultants, LLC

10433 Purple Lane Port Richey, FL 34668 Phone: 727-226-3730

ICC-NTA, LLC

P.O. Box 490 305 N. Oakland Avenue Nappanee, IN 46550 Phone: 574-773-7975

Pacific West Associates

1550 W. 15th Street P.O. Box 40140 Casper, WY 82604 Phone: 800-798-0045

PFS Corporation

67543 CR 31 Goshen, IN 46526 Phone: 574-831-6641

PFS Corporation

Larry Beineke, Ph.D., P.E. 2109 Rainy Lake Street Wake Forest, NC 27587 Phone: 919-217-7002

PFS Corporation

Attn: Jeremy Hopland 2520 K Avenue, Suite 700-735 Plano, TX 75074

Phone: 972-424-2740

PFS Corporation

1507 Matt Pass Cottage Grove, WI 53527 Phone: 608-839-1013

Architectural Testing, Inc. (ATI) 130 Derry Ct. York, PA 17406 Phone: 717-764-7700

Progressive Engineering, Inc.

58640 State Road 15 Goshen, IN 46528 Phone: 574-533-0337 Pyramid1, Inc.

19590 C.R. 40 Goshen, IN 46526 Phone: 574-537-8033

Pyramid1, Inc.

P.O. Box 463 New Paris, IN 46553 Phone: 573-831-4200

RADCO (a Twining Company)

18414 Northrop Drive Goshen, IN 46526 Phone: 574-831-6833

TI RADCO, LLP Corporate Office 18071 Mount Washington St. Fountain Valley, CA 92708

Phone: 562-272-7231

State of Nebraska

Division of Housing & Recreational Vehicles 300 The Atrium, 1200 "N" St., P.O. Box 94927

Lincoln, NE 68509 Phone: 402-471-0518

Underwriters Laboratories, Inc.

333 Pfingsten Road Northbrook, IL 60062-2096 Phone: 847-272-8800

Colorado Division of Housing

Beverly Seyler, Program Administrator Colorado Dept of Local Affairs Division of Housing, Standards & Technology Section 1313 Sherman, Room 321 Denver CO 80203

Phone: 303-866-4616

E.W. Keith & Associates

Elvin W. Keith, Jr., P.E. CMfge P.O. Box 531 Springfield, MO 65801 Phone: 417-887-0927

Expert Modular Consultants, LLC

Robert A. Johnson, President 13103 W. Linebaugh Ave, Ste. 102

Tampa, FL 33626 Phone: 813-336-4930



Option 1

Missouri Public Service Commission Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program

Plan & QC Manual Approval Checklist

Please note that plan approvals will not be processed unless the Manufacturer has a current Certificate of Manufacturer Registration on file with the Missouri Public Service Commission and up-to-date with Seals of Compliance Reports.

Fees: New Plan Approvals - \$150 per model Plan Revisions - No fee for simple revisions*

> Plan Renewals - \$150 per model Quality Control Manual Approval - \$150

*Note: Other revisions may require the \$150 fee. Call to

Mailing Address:

Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program

Program Manager P.O. Box 360

Jefferson City, MO 65102

How to Reach Us: Phone: 800-819-3180

Fax: 573-522-2509
Web Page: www.psc.mo.gov
Email: manhouse@psc.mo.gov

	inquire.
	New Plan Approvals - Plans are approved for a period of one year and must be renewed each year until production of the models has ceased.
	□ Plan Approval Form
	□ Plan Review Form
	Letter from the Third Party Inspection Agency - The letter must list the model and indicate that the model has been approved for the current codes used by the State of Missouri. Set of stamped plans - Each page of plans must be stamped by the Third Party Inspection Agency.
	☐ Set of stamped plans - Each page of plans must be stamped by the Third Party Inspection Agency. ☐ Check or money order for the appropriate fee amount. (Make check payable to: Director of Revenue)
Į	and the money of the appropriate for amount. (make offering payable to broader of the following)
	Revisions – Simple Revisions
	☐ Plan Approval Form
	☐ Plan Review Form
	Copy of the Plan Approval Form stamped with the State of Missouri PSC Stamp from the prior approval.
	Letter from the Third Party Inspection Agency - The letter must list the model and indicate that the model has been approved for the current codes used by the State of Missouri. One set of stamped plan revisions - Each page of the plan revision must be stamped by the Third Party Inspection Agency.
	Plan Renewals - Choose Option 1 or Option 2
	Plans will be approved for a period of one year and must be renewed each year until production of those models has ceased.
	Option 1
	☐ Plan Approval Form
	□ Plan Review Form
	Letter from the Third Party Inspection Agency - The letter must list the model and indicate that the model has been approved for the current codes used by the State of Missouri.
	□ Set of stamped plans - Each page of plans must be stamped by the Third Party Inspection Agency. □ Check or money order for the appropriate fee amount. (Make check payable to: Director of Revenue)
	Option 2 (This option can be used ONLY if no changes have been made to the plan since last approval/)
	□ Copy of the Plan Approval Form stamped with the State of Missouri PSC "Approved" stamp from the prior approval year.
	□ New Plan Approval Form
	☐ Plan Review Form
	Letter from the Third Party Inspection Agency; the letter must list the models and indicate they have been approved for the current codes used by the State of Missouri.
	☐ Check or money order for the appropriate fee amount. (Make check payable to: Director of Revenue)
1	Quality Control Manual (QC Manual)
	The QC Manual will be approved for a period of one year.
	Approval of the QC Manual should coincide with the Manufacturer Certificate of Registration Application process.
	□ Plan Approval Form
	□ Plan Review Form
	Letter from the Third Party Inspection Agency - The letter must indicate the QC Manual has been approved for the current codes used by the State of Missouri.
	Stamped copy of the QC Manual; each page of the Manual must be stamped by the Third Party Inspection Agency. Additional set required if a stamped set is to be returned.
	☐ Check or money order for the appropriate fee amount. (Make check payable to: Director of Revenue)
ĺ	Quality Control Renewals - Choose Option 1 or Option 2
U	A CAMBILLA COLLEGA INCLUSTRATION CHOOSE CAMBILLA OF CAMBILLA

□ Plan Approval Form □ Plan Review Form □ Letter from the Third Party Inspection Agency - The letter must indicate the QC Manual has been approved for the current codes used by the State of Missouri. □ Stamped copy of the QC Manual; each page of the QC Manual must be stamped by the Third Party Inspection Agency. □ Check or money order for the appropriate fee amount. (Make check payable to: Director of Revenue) Option 2 (This option can be used ONLY if no changes have been made to the QC Manual since last approval.) □ Copy of the Plan Approval Form stamped with the State of Missouri PSC "Approved" stamp from the prior approval year (if QC Manual has not changed). □ New Plan Approval Form □ Plan Review Form □ New approval letter from the Third Party Inspection Agency; the letter must indicate the QC Manual has been approved for the codes of the State of Missouri. □ Check or money order for the appropriate fee amount. (Make check payable to: Director of Revenue)



Missouri Public Service Commission Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program Application for Modular Unit Plan Approvals

Transmittal Number (PSC Office)	Check Number		Check Amount				
INSTRUCTIONS							
Submit the completed application, plans, & fees to your Third Party to forward to: Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102 or 200 Madison St., 5th Fl., Jefferson City, MO 65101	Plan Approval Fees (non-refund model Make all checks and money orders pa Missouri Director of Revenue	, .	How to reach us: Phone: 800-819-3180 Fax: 573-522-2509 Web Page: www.psc.mo.gov				
	MANUFACTURER I	NFORMATION	L				
	se the actual facility name & address		e produced.				
Registration Number:	R	egistration Expiration Date:					
Manufacturer's Name: Contact Name:		ail Address:					
Contact Name: Mailing Address:							
City/State/Zip:	PII	sical Location:					
Phone Number:	Fa	Number:					
	<u> </u>		TION				
	HIRD PARTY INSPECTION A rized representative approving mode						
Third Party Agency:							
Contact Name:	Em	ail Address:					
Mailing Address:							
City/State/Zip:		N. I					
Phone Number:		Number:					
	DEALER OR CONSUME Attach additional shee						
Dealer or Consumer Name:	De	aler Registration #:					
Physical Address:	Dea	ler Email Address:					
City/State/Zip:		Phone Number	r:				
	MODEL INFOR	-					
NOTE: Plans are approved for	Please list the models to be r a period of one year and must be re		roduction of the model has ceased.				
Please indicate ✓ New Model Model Revision Renewal	Model Name		Model Destination- IPLETE ADDRESS REQUIRED t Address, City, State & Zip Code)	Seismic Design Category			
Wodel Revision		(-1-1-	, ,				
New Models constructed after November 30, 2024, shall be constructed to the criteria set forth in the 2021 International Building Code, the 2021 International Plumbing Code, the 2021 International Mechanical Code, the 2021 International Residential Code, 2021 International Fuel Gas Code, 2021 International Energy Code and the 2020 National Electric Code NFPA. Current models constructed prior to November 30, 2024, are good until May 30, 2025.							
According to the Public Service Commission's Rules 4CSR 240-123.010(I) governing modular units, modular units must be completed structures and must be tagged with a code compliance seal before being shipped and sold in the State of Missouri. Questions, please contact us at the above phone number.							
SIGNATURE							
Authorized Company Official							
Title	Date						



Missouri Public Service Commission Manufactured Housing & Modular Unit Program Plan Review Form

To be completed by the Third Party Agency.

We, the Third Party Agency, have reviewed and approved plans from:				
Manufacturer Name				
Project Name				
Job Number				
Number of Units				
Location of Project (Exact Location Required)				
This unit meets or exceeds the: 2021 International Building Code (IBC) 2021 International Residential Code (IRC) 2021 International Plumbing 2021 International Mechanical Code 2021 International Energy Code 2021 International Fuel Gas Code 2020 National Electric Code (NFPA)				
Seismic Design Category (Please specify)			
An on-line inspection for compliance	e will be completed for th	e above units.		
Third Party Name				
Address				
Phone		Fax		
Contact Email Address:				
Representative Name:	Repre	Representative Title		
Please send the complete plan approval submission to: (See Plan Approval Checklist for Submission Guidelines)				
Mailing Address:	Stre	eet Address:		
Missouri Public Service Commission Manufactured Housing & Modular Unit Program P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102		Missouri Public Service Commission Manufactured Housing & Modular Unit Program 200 Madison Street, Suite 500 Jefferson City, MO 65101		
Phone: 800-819-3180 Fax: 573-522-2509	We	o Address: <u>www.psc.mo.gov</u>		
This form must accompany the plan	approval form as well as	any other required documentation and fees.		

Reporting Period: (Month/Year)			Registration Number: (As indicated on Certificate of Registration)				
Manufacturer Name:							
Facility Address:							
This form must be used in reporting and certifying units to the Missouri Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program. The report is to be sent to the Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program using the following email address: MHreports@psc.mo.gov . The form can also be faxed to 573-522-2509. A copy should be retained by the manufacturer. This report must be received by our office by the tenth day of the following month that is due.							
Serial Number Se	eal Number	Date of Manufacture	Model	Size	Date Shipped	Dealer/Consumer Name	Dealer/Consumer Address
Certification for Modular Manufacturers							
I hereby certify that the modular unit(s) as described herein have been constructed in compliance with the following: • New models constructed after November 30, 2024, shall be constructed to the criteria set forth in the 2021 International Building Code, the 2021 International Plumbing Code, the 2021 International Residential Code, 2021 International Fuel Gas Code, and the 2020 National Electric Code NFPA.							
Current models approved prior to Signature:	o November 30, 2	2024, are good until	May 30, 2025.		Date:		



Missouri Public Service Commission Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program

Application for Seals Certifying Compliance with Modular Unit Standards

Instructions

- Current registration must be on file or seals cannot be processed.
- Fill the form out completely and legibly.
- Enclose a check or money order made payable to the "Missouri Director of Revenue".
- Please allow five (5) to seven (7) working days for seals to be processed. Seal requests are processed in the order that they are received.
- Call the Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program at 800-819-3180, if you have questions.

Mailing Address:

Missouri Public Service Commission Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102

Physical Location:

Missouri Public Service Commission Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program 200 Madison Street, Suite 500 Jefferson City, MO 65101

Jefferson City, MO 65102		Jefferson City, MO 65101			
Transmittal Number (PSC Office Use) Check	nsmittal Number (PSC Office Use) Check Number		Check Amount		
Ma	nufacture	r Information			
Registration Number (Refer to current Certificate of Registration)		Registration Expiration Date:			
Manufacturer Name					
Contact Name		Email Address			
Manufacturer Address (Must provide a physical address - Cannot ser	nd to a P.O. Box. Seals	s will be shipped via Certified Ma	il)		
Manufacturer City/State/Zip					
Phone Number					
Fax Number					
	Seal Inf	ormation			
Number of seals being requeste	d	Note - Manufacturers must complete a Seals of Compliance Form each month to report seals assigned. If no seals were assigned for a given month, the manufacturer must still submit a Seals of Compliance form each month stating that no seals were assigned. These reports are due on the 10 th day of the			
Non-refundable fee per se (\$220 per seal effective April 1, 20					
Amount Enclose	d \$	following month. A separate form for each month must be submitted.			
Certification					
I, the undersigned, under penalty for false statement, do hereby certify that I am an owner or officer of the Applicant and that the above information is true and correct. I hereby certify that the seals applied for herein will be affixed only to Modular Units which comply with the following: Models constructed after November 30, 2024, shall be constructed to the criteria set forth in the 2021 International Building Code, the 2021 International Plumbing Code, the 2021 International Mechanical Code, the 2021 International Residential Code, 2021 International Fuel Gas Code, 2021 International Energy Code and the 2020 National Electric Code NFPA. Current models constructed prior to November 30, 2024, are good until May 30, 2025.					
Signature					
Title			I Data		
Title			Date		



Missouri Public Service Commission, Manufactured Housing Department P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

In an ongoing effort to help inform the manufactured housing retailers of current laws and regulations, the Manufactured Housing Department of the Missouri Public Service Commission offers the following information. Please call 800-819-3180, if you have questions.

- 1. "Dealer" means any person, other than a manufacturer, who sells or offers for sale four (4) or more used homes or one (1) or more new manufactured homes or one (1) or more new modular units in any consecutive 12-month period.
- 2. It is a misdemeanor for a manufacturer or dealer to manufacture, rent, lease, sell or offer to sell any manufactured home or modular unit after January 1, 1977, unless they are registered with the commission.
- 3. It is a misdemeanor to rent, lease, sell or offer to sell a new manufactured home, modular unit, or a unit used for education purposes manufactured after January 1, 1974, which does not bear a seal as required by the provisions of Section 700.010 to 700.115, RSMo.
- 4. It is a misdemeanor to alter a new manufactured home or modular unit in a manner prohibited by the provisions of Sections 700.010 to 700.115, RSMo.
- 5. No certified new manufactured home which entered the first stage of production after November 22, 1976, on which an alteration has been made, shall be rented, leased or sold, or offered for rent, lease, or sale in the state unless the alteration has been approved in writing by the Manager of the Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program.
- 6. Approval of alterations must be requested by written application executed on a form provided by the Manufactured Housing Program upon request. The person or entity that owns the new manufactured home that is being altered must submit the application.
- 7. Manufactured homes are built to comply with the Federal Manufactured Home Construction and Safety Standards (commonly known as the HUD code). Effective March 30, 2018, Modular units are to be built to comply with other standards as adopted by the Commission; the criteria set forth by the 2015 International Building Code, the 2015 International Plumbing Code, the 2015 International Mechanical Code, the 2015 International Residential Code, 2015 International Fuel Gas Code, and the 2014 National Electric Code NFPA.
- Modular units include residential, commercial, educational, and industrial units.
- 9. It is a misdemeanor to fail to correct a code violation in a new manufactured home or new modular unit owned, manufactured, or sold within a reasonable time, not to exceed 90 days after being ordered to do so in writing by an authorized representative of the commission, if the same is manufactured after January 1, 1974.
- 10. Dealers cannot require purchasers to purchase any type of insurance from that dealer as a condition of sale.
- 11. Every dealer of a new manufactured home offered for sale in this state shall, at the time of sale, provide the purchaser with a bill of sale or the purchase agreement containing at least the following: The total price of the unit, serial number if available, if not, the manufacturer name and model number of the unit, and its contents, any waivers, a list of all furniture and appliances in the manufactured home, any other costs which will be assessed to the purchaser by the dealer such as transportation, handling or such other costs, and the sales tax payable for such manufactured home.



Missouri Public Service Commission, Manufactured Housing Department P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

- 12. Effective July 1, 2005, all <u>new</u> manufactured HUD built homes must be installed by a Certified Licensed Installer who has obtained a license from the commission.
- 13. The commission has determined that manufactured homes and modular units must be set up according to the manufacturer's installation manual. Installation manuals will contain instructions on all phases of assembly. Some of the more important factors are as follows:
 - a. For proper blocking these factors must be considered; the size of the home, the load bearing capacity of each pier, the load bearing capacity of the soil, the spacing required between each pier, if the home requires perimeter blocks at the doors, windows, etc., and the maximum and minimum height a home can be blocked, etc.
 - b. If, as part of the sale, the dealer includes installing skirting on a manufactured home, it must be properly vented. Refer to the installation manual for the proper amount of venting required.
 - c. The installation manual will indicate the type and thickness of the vapor barrier that is to be installed under the home. If the manual states that a vapor barrier is required, shall be, or should be installed, then the dealer is responsible to install it, unless properly waived on the bill of sale.
 - d. The installation manual will contain instructions as to how to support the heat crossover duct under the home.
 - e. Drain lines that are installed on site are required to be strapped and supported every four (4) feet with the proper strapping. Other critical drain line instructions are presented in the manual.
 - f. All plastic must be removed from the end walls and the marriage line wall of a manufactured home before assembly.
 - g. Air conditioner wiring must be installed inside the bottom board, or secured in conduit and supported to the floor joist or chassis every four (4) feet.
 - h. Refer to installation manual for correct marriage line fastening, and vinyl siding installation, etc.
- 14. Each manufacturer shall provide a homeowner's manual with each manufactured home. No dealer or distributor may interfere with the distribution of homeowner's manual. Where necessary, the dealer or distributor shall take any appropriate steps to ensure that the purchaser receives a homeowner's manual.
- 15. A dealer cannot require any person to arrange financing or utilize the services of any particular financing service as a condition to purchasing any manufactured home or modular unit, provided, however, the registered manufacturer or dealer may reserve the right to establish reasonable conditions for the approval of any financing source.
- 16. The books, records, inventory and premises of dealers of new and used manufactured homes and modular units shall from time to time, during normal business hours, be subject to an inspection by the Director to ascertain if a manufacturer or dealer is complying with Chapter 700, RSMo. (1986), and all applicable federal laws as they relate to new and used manufactured homes and modular units.



Missouri Public Service Commission, Manufactured Housing Department P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

- 17. A dealer is required to forward to the manufacturer every complaint and other information that may indicate the existence of an imminent safety hazard, serious defect, defect, or noncompliance in a home, whether the dealer provides the service work or not. Sources of information include consumer complaints, transportation inspection reports, etc.
- 18. A dealer is required to complete and send back to the manufacturer the homeowner information card. This card should be in the homeowner's manual. If the information card is not available, the dealer should obtain the information which the card would require and send it to the manufacturer in an appropriate format and notify the manufacturer of this problem.
- 19. A dealer is required to maintain complete records of all corrections authorized by the manufacturer. Also, maintain complete records of alterations if it is discovered that the alterations have caused a failure to conform or an imminent safety hazard.
- 20. The **Formaldehyde Notice** <u>must not</u> be removed until the sales transaction has been completed, and when all the goods and services agreed upon in the contract have been provided.
- 21. All manufactured homes and modular units located in this state shall be anchored and tied down in accordance with the standards promulgated by the commission pursuant to the provisions of Sections 700.010 to 700.115. If the dealer includes anchoring the home as part of the sale it must be in compliance with the code and all new HUD homes must be anchored by a licensed installer. All homes manufactured after June 15, 1976 must have a set up manual that will indicate the proper location for the anchors.
- 22. The commission shall approve or have approved, prior to being sold, being offered for sale or being installed, any anchor or tie-down system designed and intended for manufactured or modular homes. Before any such system shall be sold, offered for sale, or installed, a letter of approval from the commission or its authorized agent approving the **particular system** or complying with the Missouri standards shall be prominently displayed at each place of business selling, offering for sale, or installing such system, and a copy shall be furnished to each person purchasing the anchor or tie-down system. Refer to www.psc.mo.gov/manufacturedhousing for a complete list of approved anchoring systems.
- 23. Following are some important factors a dealer and licensed installer should know before anchoring a home:
 - a. Refer to the manufacturer's installation instructions to determine anchor spacing, and the distance from each end the first anchors are to be installed.
 - b. The anchor installer must know the soil classification to ensure that the proper anchor is being installed.
 - c. The anchor strap must wrap the frame and come off the top of the frame at a forty to fifty degree angle to the anchor, unless an approved frame bracket is used.
 - d. Anchors are to be installed in line with the strap or have a concrete collar or a stabilizing device installed.
 - e. The anchor is to be installed to the full depth (i.e.; the anchor head must rest on the ground).
 - f. Make sure frame anchors are at the right distance from the frame to allow the proper strap angle as required in the installation manual.



Missouri Public Service Commission, Manufactured Housing Department P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

- g. If a manufactured home contains over the roof straps, they are required to be utilized and anchored.
- h. If two straps are used on one anchor, the anchor must be approved for dual straps. Refer to the anchor approval letter to find this information.
- i. Beginning October 20, 2008, all anchors must meet the new HUD standards under HUD code 3285.402(b) which requires galvanization protection.