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           Modular Unit Manufacturer Packet 
                Missouri Public Service Commission 
                            Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program 

 
 
  Enclosed in this packet you will find an Application for Manufacturer Registration and other helpful forms.   The manufacturer registration requirements and   
  form information is outlined below. 
 

IMPORTANT NOTE:  All Corporations, LLC’s, or LP’s, who are doing business in the State of Missouri, are required to be registered with the Missouri Secretary 
of State’s Office.  If the manufacturer is doing business under a different name other than the Corporate, LLC or LP a Fictitious Name is also required to be filed 
with the Missouri Secretary of State’s Office.  To obtain this registration, contact their department at 573-751-4153 or visit their website at www.sos.mo.gov.  
 
REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS:  

 
 Application for Manufacturer Registration - This form must be completed in full, signed, dated and include the title of individual signing the form.  An additional 

sheet may be attached for Section F – Names and Addresses of All Officers and Directors of the Corporation. 
 

 Registration Fee - Please submit a check or money order in the amount of $750 payable to the Missouri Director of Revenue.   
Each manufacturing plant must be registered separately, each paying a separate registration fee. 
 

 Affidavit - Corporations only must submit an affidavit verifying that whoever is applying for the registration has corporate authority to do so.   
An affidavit is attached for your convenience. 
 

 Articles of Incorporation - Corporations only must submit a copy of their Articles of Incorporation for the initial registration. 
        The Articles of Incorporation are not required to be resubmitted for renewal applications unless the documentation has changed. 

 
 Corporation By-Laws - Corporations only must submit a copy of the Corporation By-Laws for the initial registration. 

The By-Laws are not required to be resubmitted for renewal applications unless the documents have changed. 
 

 Manufacturers  - must be registered with the Missouri Secretary of State’s Office pursuant to 4 CSR 240-123.040.   
Contact the Secretary of State’s Office @ 573-751-4153 or www.sos.mo.gov to become registered.  Proof of registration must be submitted with your 
manufacturer application.  (NOTE: If a corporation, information provided in “Section D” must match exactly to the Missouri Secretary of State Registration.  If 
not a corporation, information must match exactly with “Section C”.) 
 

 Quality Control Manual -  Pursuant to 4CSR 240-123.040 (E) & (F), a QC Manual must be submitted along with the registration application documentation and 
appropriate fees ($75 QC manual, $750 manufacturer registration) through a Third Party Agency for approval.  
For renewals only: if the QC Manual has not changed from the previous year, the “approved” stamped copy of the Plan Approval Form from the year before 
may be submitted in lieu of the whole manual.  The $75 QC Manual processing fee and forms for the current year are still required and must go through your 
Third Party Agency for approval. 
 

 Statement of No Taxes Due - Missouri Corporations only must submit a Statement of No Taxes Due which can be obtained from contacting the Missouri 
Department of Revenue @ 573-751-9268. 
 

 Certificate of Good Standing -  Missouri Corporations only must submit a Certificate of Good Standing which can be obtained from contacting the Missouri 
Secretary of State @ 573-751-4153. 
 

FORMS INFORMATION: 
 Seals of Compliance Form – This form must be completed and submitted each month to the Missouri Public Service Commission by the tenth day of the fol lowing 

month reporting the seals used for the previous month.  This report needs to be submitted every month, even if no seals were used during that month.  Also, when 
submitting reports, do not combine reports for multiple months; each month must be reported on a separate sheet.  Please make additional copies of the form as needed.   

 Application for Seals – This form must be used to purchase Missouri Public Service Commission Seals.  Please allow five to seven working days for the seals to be 
processed. 

 Plan Approval Application & Plan Review Forms – These forms must be used when submitting Plans and Quality Control Manuals for approval.  Make sure the forms 
are complete, signed and dated prior to submission to your Third Party Agency for approval.  Third Party Agencies will forward them to the department.   

 Plan Approval Checklist – This form is intended to be used as a guide for preparing submittals of the Plan and Quality Control Manual approvals to the Missouri 
Public Service Commission. 

 Third Party Inspection Agency List – This is a list of Third Party Inspection Agencies approved by the Missouri Public Service Commission to review and 
approve Plans and Quality Control Manuals for compliance with current state building codes. 

 
Contact Information:    

 Mail to: Missouri Public Service Commission                            Phone:  800-819-3180                                                              
  Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program         Fax:  573-522-2509 
  P.O. Box 360                                                                  Email: manhouse@psc.mo.gov 
  Jefferson City, MO  65102                                           Web Page: www.psc.mo.gov; (click on Manufactured Housing)                

http://www.sos.mo.gov/
mailto:manhouse@psc.mo.gov
http://www.psc.mo.gov/
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           Missouri Public Service Commission 
Application for Manufacturer Registration 

Please fill the form out completely and legibly. 
PSC OFFICE USE ONLY

  
Transmittal Number Check Number Check Amount 

• CORPORATIONS, Please Read Section A and Complete Sections B, C, D, E, F, G      
• IF NOT A CORPORATION, Please Read Section A and Complete Sections B, C, E, G 
 

IMPORTANT: PURSUANT TO 4 CSR 240-123-040, MANUFACTURERS MUST BE REGISTERED WITH THE MISSOURI SECRETARY OF 
STATE OFFICE (573-751-4153 OR WWW.SOS.MO.GOV).  PROOF OF REGISTRATION MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH YOUR 
MANUFACTURER APPLICATION. (NOTE:  IF A CORPORATION, INFORMATION PROVIDED IN“SECTION D” MUST MATCH EXACTLY 
TO THE MISSOURI SECRETARY OF STATE REGISTRATION.  IF NOT A CORPORATION, INFORMATION MUST MATCH EXACTLY WITH 
“SECTION C”.)  

SECTION A GENERAL INFORMATION 
• Each manufacturing plant must file a separate registration with the State of Missouri. 
• The Registration Fee is $750 for each manufacturing plant.   
• The Registration Certificate is valid for a period of one year from the date of issuance. 
• Make check payable to: Missouri Director of Revenue 
SECTION B PLEASE COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING 
  New      Renewal     (Please X the appropriate box.) If renewal, Registration Number 
Manufacturer Type        Manufactured Home Manufacturer        Modular Unit Manufacturer       (Please X the appropriate box.)   

SECTION C   MANUFACTURER’S FACILITY INFORMATION 
Facility Name 

Contact Name Contact Email Address 

Facility Address 

Facility City/State/Zip 

Phone Number Fax Number FEIN 

SECTION D MANUFACTURER’S CORPORATE INFORMATION  Check here if corporate information is the same as above. 
Corporate Name                                                                                                                        State of Incorporation 

Contact Name Contact Email Address 

Corporate Address 

Corporate City/State/Zip 

Phone Number Fax Number 

SECTION E NAME, TITLE, AND ADDRESS OF PERSON RESPONSIBLE FOR OPERATION OF FACILITY 
Name Title Address 
   
   
   
   
SECTION F NAME, TITLE, AND ADDRESS OF OFFICERS AND DIRECTORS OF THE CORPORATION  (If necessary, attach sheet) 
Name Title Address 
   
   
   
   
SECTION G Signature Title Date 
 

PLEASE MAIL COMPLETED APPLICATION & FEE TO:  
             Missouri Public Service Commission 
             Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program 
             P.O. Box 360; Jefferson City, MO  65102 or 
             200 Madison Street, 5th Floor, Jefferson City, MO  65101 

 
PHONE:   800-819-3180  
FAX:   573-522-2509 
EMAIL: manhouse@psc.mo.gov 
WEB PAGE:   www.psc.mo.gov/manufactured-housing/ 
 

 

http://www.sos.mo.gov/
mailto:manhouse@psc.mo.gov
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AFFIDAVIT 
 
 
 
   State of __________________________ 
 

 
 
County of __________________________ 
 
 
_______________________________________________ 
Name 

 
_______________________________________________ 
Address 

 
 
 
Deposes and says upon his or her oath that: 
 
I am the ____________________of ___________________________, and I am  
  Title     Company Name 

authorized and have full authority to execute the Manufacturer's Application for  
 
Certificate of Registration on behalf of _________________________________________. 
        Company Name 
 
 
              _________________________________________ 
             Signed 
 
 
 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______ day of _____________, _____. 
          Day   Month    Year 

 

      ________________________________ 
            Notary Public 

 

Commission Expires:  ___________________________ 
 
 
 
 



4/16/13 
  

Missouri Public Service Commission 
Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program 

Plan & QC Manual Approval Checklist 
 
Please note that plan approvals will not be processed unless the Manufacturer has a current Certificate of Manufacturer Registration on file with the Missouri Public Service Commission 
and up-to-date with Seals of Compliance Reports. 

Fees:       New Plan Approvals  -  $75 per model  
                  Plan Revisions  -  No fee  for simple revisions* 
                  Plan Renewals  -  $75 per model  
                  Quality Control Manual Approval  -  $75  
*Note:  Other revisions may require the $75 fee. Call to inquire. 

Mailing Address: 
Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program 
Program Manager 
P.O. Box 360 
Jefferson City, MO  65102 

How to Reach Us : 
Phone:  800-819-3180 
Fax:  573-522-2509 
Web Page:  www.psc.mo.gov 
Email:  manhouse@psc.mo.gov 

 

New Plan Approvals - Plans are approved for a period of one year and must be renewed each year until production of the models has ceased. 
  Plan Approval Form 
  Plan Review Form 
  Letter from the Third Party Inspection Agency - The letter must list the model and indicate that the model has been approved for the current codes used by the State of Missouri. 
  Set of stamped plans - Each page of plans must be stamped by the Third Party Inspection Agency.   
  Check or money order for the appropriate fee amount. (Make check payable to: Director of Revenue) 
 

Revisions – Simple Revisions    
  Plan Approval Form 
  Plan Review Form  
  Copy of the Plan Approval Form stamped with the State of Missouri PSC Stamp from the prior approval. 
  Letter from the Third Party Inspection Agency - The letter must list the model and indicate that the model has been approved for the current codes used by the State of Missouri. 
  One set of stamped plan revisions - Each page of the plan revision must be stamped by the Third Party Inspection Agency.  
 

Plan Renewals - Choose Option 1 or Option 2  
Plans will be approved for a period of one year and must be renewed each year until production of those models has ceased. 
Option 1 
 Plan Approval Form 
  Plan Review Form 
  Letter from the Third Party Inspection Agency - The letter must list the model and indicate that the model has been approved for the current codes used by the State of Missouri. 
  Set of stamped plans - Each page of plans must be stamped by the Third Party Inspection Agency.   
  Check or money order for the appropriate fee amount.  (Make check payable to: Director of Revenue) 
Option 2   (This option can be used ONLY if no changes have been made to the plan since last approval/) 
  Copy of the Plan Approval Form stamped with the State of Missouri PSC "Approved" stamp from the prior approval year. 
  New Plan Approval Form 
  Plan Review Form 
  Letter from the Third Party Inspection Agency; the letter must list the models and indicate they have been approved for the current codes used by the State of Missouri. 
  Check or money order for the appropriate fee amount.  (Make check payable to: Director of Revenue) 
 

Quality Control Manual (QC Manual) 
The QC Manual will be approved for a period of one year.   
Approval of the QC Manual should coincide with the Manufacturer Certificate of Registration Application process. 
  Plan Approval Form 
  Plan Review Form 
  Letter from the Third Party Inspection Agency - The letter must indicate the QC Manual has been approved for the current codes used by the State of Missouri. 
  Stamped copy of the QC Manual; each page of the Manual must be stamped by the Third Party Inspection Agency. Additional set required if a stamped set is to be returned. 
  Check or money order for the appropriate fee amount.  (Make check payable to: Director of Revenue) 
 

Quality Control Renewals - Choose Option 1 or Option 2  
Option 1 
  Plan Approval Form 
  Plan Review Form 
  Letter from the Third Party Inspection Agency - The letter must indicate the QC Manual has been approved for the current codes used by the State of Missouri. 
  Stamped copy of the QC Manual; each page of the QC Manual must be stamped by the Third Party Inspection Agency.   
  Check or money order for the appropriate fee amount.  (Make check payable to: Director of Revenue) 
Option 2  (This option can be used ONLY if no changes have been made to the QC Manual since last approval.) 
  Copy of the Plan Approval Form stamped with the State of Missouri PSC “Approved” stamp from the prior approval year (if QC Manual has not changed). 
  New Plan Approval Form 
  Plan Review Form 
  New approval letter from the Third Party Inspection Agency; the letter must indicate the QC Manual has been approved for the codes of the State of Missouri. 
  Check or money order for the appropriate fee amount.  (Make check payable to: Director of Revenue) 
 

http://www.psc.mo.gov/
mailto:manhouse@psc.mo.gov
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Missouri Public Service Commission 

Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program 

Application for Modular Unit Plan Approvals 
 

Transmittal Number (PSC Office) Check Number Check Amount 

INSTRUCTIONS 
Submit the completed application, plans, & 
fees to your Third Party to forward to: 
Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program 
P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102 or 
200 Madison St., 5th Fl., Jefferson City, MO  651 01 

Plan Approval Fees (non-refundable):  $75 per model 
Make all checks and money orders payable to: 
Missouri Director of Revenue 

How to reach us: 
 Phone: 800-819-3180 

Fax:   573-522-2509 
 Web Page:  www.psc.mo.gov 

MANUFACTURER INFORMATION 
Must use the actual facility name & address where the model will be produced. 

Registration Number: Registration Expiration Date: 

Manufacturer’s Name: 

Contact Name: Email Address: 

Mailing Address: Physical Location: 

City/State/Zip: 

Phone Number: Fax Number: 

THIRD PARTY INSPECTION AGENCY INFORMATION 
NOTE:  A letter from the authorized representative approving models listed below must be attached to this Plan Approval Form. 

Third Party Agency: 

Contact Name: Email Address: 

Mailing Address: 

City/State/Zip: 

Phone Number: Fax Number: 

DEALER OR CONSUMER INFORMATION 
Attach additional sheets if necessary. 

Dealer or Consumer Name: Dealer Registration #: 

Physic al Address: Dealer Email Address: 

City/State/Zip: Phone Number: 

MODEL INFORMATION 
Please list the models to be approved below. 

NOTE:  Plans are approved for a period of one year and must be renewed each year until production of the model has ceased. 
Please indicate    

 
Model Name 

 
Model Destination- 

COMPLETE ADDRESS REQUIRED 
(Street Address, City, State & Zip Code) 

 
Seismic Design 

Category 
 

New 
Model 

 
Model 

Revision 

 
Model 

Renewal 

      
      
      
      
      

New models constructed after March 31, 2011, shall be constructed to the criteria set forth in the 2009 International Building Code, the 2009 International Plumbing 
Code, the 2009 International Mechanical Code, the 2009 International Residential Code, 2009 International Fuel Gas Code, and the 2008 National Electric Code 
NFPA. Current models approved prior to March 31, 2011, are good until October 1, 2011. 

 
According to the Public Service Commission’s Rules 4CSR 240-123.010(I) governing modular units, modular units must be completed  structures and must be tagged with a 
code compliance seal before being shipped and sold in the State of Missouri. Questions, please contact us at the above phone number. 

SIGNATURE 
Authorized Company Official 

Title Date 

 

http://www.psc.mo.gov/
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 Missouri Public Service Commission 

    Manufactured Housing & Modular Unit Program 

                    Plan Review Form 
 

To be completed by the Third Party Agency. 

 
We, the Third Party Agency, have reviewed and approved plans from: 

Manufacturer Name  

Project Name  

Job Number 

Number of Units 

Location of Project (Exact Location Required) 

 
This unit meets or exceeds the:    
 
 

 2009 International Building Code (IBC) 
 2009 International Residential Code (IRC) 
 2009 International Plumbing 
 2009 International Mechanical Code 
 2009 International Fuel Gas Code 
 2008 National Electric Code (NFPA) 

Seismic Design Category  (Please specify) 

An on-line inspection for compliance will be completed for the above units. 

Third Party Name 

Address 

Phone Fax 

Contact Email Address: 

Representative Name: Representative Title 

Please send the complete plan approval submission to: 
(See Plan Approval Checklist for Submission Guidelines) 

Mailing Address: 
 
Missouri Public Service Commission 
Manufactured Housing & Modular Unit Program 
P.O. Box 360 
Jefferson City, MO  65102 

Street Address: 
 
Missouri Public Service Commission 
Manufactured Housing & Modular Unit Program 
200 Madison Street, Suite 500 
Jefferson City, MO  65101 

 
Phone:  800-819-3180 
Fax:  573-522-2509 

 
Web Address:  www.psc.mo.gov 

 
This form must accompany the plan approval form as well as any other required documentation and fees. 

 

 



   THIRD PARTY AGENCIES 
The Firms listed below are certified as authorized representatives of the  
Missouri Public Service Commission Pursuant to Section 700.040.1 RSMo. 

 

 

Missouri Public Service Commission, Manufactured Housing Department, P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, MO  65102, Phone: 800-819-3180, 
Fax:  753-522-2509, E-mail: manhouse@psc.mo.gov, www.psc.mo.gov. 

 
Revised: 1/25/2013 

 

T.R. Arnold & Associates, Inc. 
700 East Beardsley Avenue, Suite 2A 
Elkhart, IN  46514 
Phone:  574-264-0745, Fax:  574-264-0740 
 
HWC Engineering 
1627 South Myrtle Avenue 
Clearwater, FL  33756 
Phone: 727-584-8151, Fax: 727-586-3343 
 
NTA, Inc. 
P.O. Box 490 
305 N. Oakland Avenue 
Nappanee, IN  46550 
Phone: 574-773-7975, Fax: 574-773-2732 
 
Pacific West Associates 
1550 W. 15th Street 
P.O. Box 40140 
Casper, WY  82604 
Phone: 800-798-0045 
 
PFS Corporation 
67543 CR 31 
Goshen, IN  46526 
Phone: 574-831-6641, Fax: 574-831-6396 
 
PFS Corporation 
Larry Beineke, Ph.D., P.E. 
2109 Rainy Lake Street 
Wake Forest, NC  27587 
Phone: 919-217-7002 FAX: 919-217-7003 
 
PFS Corporation 
Attn: Jeremy Hopland 
2520 K Avenue, Suite 700-735 
Plano, TX  75074 
Phone: 972-424-2740, Fax: 608-839-3995 
 
PFS Corporation 
1507 Matt Pass 
Cottage Grove, WI  53527 
Phone: 608-839-1013, Fax: 608-839-1014 
 
Professional Service Industries, Inc. (PSI) 
1748 33rd Street 
Orlando, FL  32839 
Phone: 407-304-5560, Fax: 407-304-5561 fax 
Bill.neary@psiusa.com 
 
 

Progressive Engineering, Inc. 
58640 State Road 15 
Goshen, IN  46528 
Phone:  574-533-0337, Fax:  574-533-9736 
 
Pyramid1, Inc. 
19590 C.R. 40 
Goshen, IN  46526 
Phone:  574-537-8033, Fax:  574-537-8044 
 
Pyramid1, Inc. 
P.O. Box 463 
New Paris, IN  46553 
Phone: 573-831-4200, Fax:  574-831-4209 
 
RADCO  
18414 Northrop Drive 
Goshen, IN  46526 
Phone: 574-831-6833  
(Larry Randolph 574-903-9192 cell) 
(Dennis Webber: 574-361-1024 cell) 
    
RADCO Corporate Office 
3220 East 59th Street 
Long Beach, CA  90805 
Phone: 562-272-7231, Fax: 562-529-7513 
 
State of Nebraska 
Division of Housing & Recreational Vehicles 
300 The Atrium, 1200 "N" St., P.O. Box 94927 
Lincoln, NE  68509 
Phone: 402-471-0518, Fax: 402-471-7709 
 
Underwriters Laboratories, Inc. 
333 Pfingsten Road 
Northbrook, IL  60062-2096 
Phone: 847-272-8800, Fax: 847-272-8129 
 
Colorado Division of Housing 
Beverly Seyler, Program Administrator 
Colorado Dept of Local Affairs 
Division of Housing, Standards & Technology Section 
1313 Sherman, Room 321 
Denver CO 80203 
Phone: 303-866-4616, Fax: 303-866-3072 
 
E.W. Keith & Associates 
Elvin W. Keith, Jr., P.E. CMfge 
P.O. Box 531 
Springfield, MO  65801 
Phone: 417-887-0927, fax: 417-887-9308 

mailto:Bill.neary@psiusa.com
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                Missouri Public Service Commission 
Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program 

Application for Seals Certifying Compliance 
           with Modular Unit Standards 

 

Instructions 
 

 Current registration must be on file or seals cannot be processed. 
 Fill the form out completely and legibly. 
 Enclose a check or money order made payable to the “Missouri Director of Revenue”. 
 Please allow five (5) to seven (7) working days for seals to be processed.  Seal requests are processed in the order that they are 

received. 
 Call the Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program at 800-819-3180, if you have questions. 

 
 
 Mailing Address: 
 Missouri Public Service Commission 
 Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program 
 P.O. Box 360 
 Jefferson City, MO  65102 

 
Physical Location: 
Missouri Public Service Commission 
Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program 
200 Madison Street, Suite 500 
Jefferson City, MO  65101 
 

Transmittal Number (PSC Office Use) Check Number Check Amount 

Manufacturer Information  
Registration Number (Refer to current Certificate of Registration) Registration Expiration Date: 

Manufacturer Name 

Contact Name Email Address 

Manufacturer Address (Must provide a physical address - Cannot send to a P.O. Box.  Seals will be shipped via Certified Mail) 

Manufacturer City/State/Zip 

Phone Number 

Fax Number 

Seal Information 
 

Number of seals being requested 
  

Note - Manufacturers must complete a Seals of Compliance Form each month to 
report seals assigned.  If no seals were assigned for a given month, the 
manufacturer must still submit a Seals of Compliance form each month stating 
that no seals were assigned.  These reports are due on the 10th day of the 
following month.  A separate form for each month must be submitted. 

 
Non-refundable fee per seal  

($110 per seal effective February 3, 2003) 

 
 $110/ea 

 
Amount Enclosed 

 
 $ 

Certification 
 
I, the undersigned, under penalty for false statement, do hereby certify that I am an owner or officer of the Applicant and that the above information is true and 
correct.  I hereby certify that the seals applied for herein will be affixed only to Modular Units which comply with the following: 

 Models constructed after March 31, 2011, shall be constructed to the criteria set forth in the 2009 International Building Code, the 2009 International 
Plumbing Code, the 2009 International Mechanical Code, the 2009 International Residential Code, 2009 International Fuel Gas Code, and the 2008 
National Electric Code NFPA. 

 Current models constructed prior to March 31, 2011, are good until October 1, 2011. 
Signature 

Title Date 

 



Revised:  5/10/11 

Missouri Public Service Commission 

MANUFACTURED HOUSING DEPARTMENT 

SEALS OF COMPLIANCE 
 

Reporting Period  (Month/Year)   Registration Number (As indicated on Certificate of Registration)     
Manufacturer Name     

Facility Address     

 

 
Serial Number 

 
Seal Number 

Date of 
Manufacture 

 
Model 

 
Size 

 
Date Shipped 

 
Dealer/Consumer Name 

 
Dealer/Consumer Address 

 
 

       

 
 

       

 
 

       

 
 

       

 

 

       

 
 

       

 
 

       

 
 

       

 
 

       

 
 

       

 
 

       

Certification for Modular Manufacturers 
I hereby certify that the modular unit(s) as described herein have been constructed in compliance with the following: 

 New models constructed after March 31, 2011, shall be constructed to the criteria set forth in the 2009 International Building Code, the 2009 International Plumbing Code, the 2009 International Mechanical Code,  the 
2009 International Residential Code, 2009 International Fuel Gas Code, and the 2008 National Electric Code NFPA. 

 Current models approved prior to March 31, 2011, are good until October 1, 2011. 
Signature: 

 
Date:  

This form, completed in duplicate, must be used in reporting and certifying units to the Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program.  The original is to be sent to the Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program, 
P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, MO  65102.  The form can also be faxed to 573-522-2509.  A copy should be retained by the manufacturer.  This form must be filed by the tenth day of the following month.    



            FOR YOUR INFORMATION           Missouri Public Service Commission, Manufactured Housing Department 
 P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102 
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In an ongoing effort to help inform the manufactured housing retailers of current laws and regulations, the Manufactured 
Housing Department of the Missouri Public Service Commission offers the following information.  Please call 800-819-3180, if 
you have questions. 
 
1. “Dealer” means any person, other than a manufacturer, who sells or offers for sale four (4) or more used homes or one 

(1) or more new manufactured homes or one (1) or more new modular units in any consecutive 12-month period. 
 
2. It is a misdemeanor for a manufacturer or dealer to manufacture, rent, lease, sell or offer to sell any manufactured home 

or modular unit after January 1, 1977, unless they are registered with the commission. 
 
3. It is a misdemeanor to rent, lease, sell or offer to sell a new manufactured home, modular unit, or a unit used for 

education purposes manufactured after January 1, 1974, which does not bear a seal as required by the provisions of 
Section 700.010 to 700.115, RSMo. 

 
4. It is a misdemeanor to alter a new manufactured home or modular unit in a manner prohibited by the provisions of 

Sections 700.010 to 700.115, RSMo. 
 
5. No certified new manufactured home which entered the first stage of production after November 22, 1976, on which an 

alteration has been made, shall be rented, leased or sold, or offered for rent, lease, or sale in the state unless the 
alteration has been approved in writing by the Manager of the Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program. 

 
6. Approval of alterations must be requested by written application executed on a form provided by the Manufactured 

Housing Program upon request.  The person or entity that owns the new manufactured home that is being altered must 
submit the application. 

 
7. Manufactured homes are built to comply with the Federal Manufactured Home Construction and Safety Standards 

(commonly known as the HUD code).  Effective March 31, 2011, Modular units are to be built to comply with other 
standards as adopted by the Commission; the criteria set forth by the 2009 International Building Code, the 2009 
International Plumbing Code, the 2009 International Mechanical Code, the 2009 International Residential Code, 2009 
International Fuel Gas Code, and the 2008 National Electric Code NFPA. 

 
8. Modular units include residential, commercial, educational, and industrial units. 
 
9. It is a misdemeanor to fail to correct a code violation in a new manufactured home or new modular unit owned, 

manufactured, or sold within a reasonable time, not to exceed 90 days after being ordered to do so in writing by an 
authorized representative of the commission, if the same is manufactured after January 1, 1974. 

 
10. Dealers cannot require purchasers to purchase any type of insurance from that dealer as a condition of sale.  
 
11. Every dealer of a new manufactured home offered for sale in this state shall, at the time of sale, provide the purchaser 

with a bill of sale or the purchase agreement containing at least the following: The total price of the unit, serial number if 
available, if not, the manufacturer name and model number of the unit, and its contents, any waivers, a list of all furniture 
and appliances in the manufactured home, any other costs which will be assessed to the purchaser by the dealer such as 
transportation, handling or such other costs, and the sales tax payable for such manufactured home.   

 



            FOR YOUR INFORMATION           Missouri Public Service Commission, Manufactured Housing Department 
 P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102 
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12. Effective July 1, 2005, all new manufactured HUD built homes must be installed by a Certified Licensed Installer who has 
obtained a license from the commission. 

 
13. The commission has determined that manufactured homes and modular units must be set up according to the 

manufacturer’s installation manual.  Installation manuals will contain instructions on all phases of assembly.  Some of the 
more important factors are as follows:  

 
a. For proper blocking these factors must be considered; the size of the home, the load bearing capacity of each pier, 

the load bearing capacity of the soil, the spacing required between each pier, if the home requires perimeter blocks at 
the doors, windows, etc., and the maximum and minimum height a home can be blocked, etc. 

 
b. If, as part of the sale, the dealer includes installing skirting on a manufactured home, it must be properly vented.  

Refer to the installation manual for the proper amount of venting required. 
 

c. The installation manual will indicate the type and thickness of the vapor barrier that is to be installed under the home. 
 If the manual states that a vapor barrier is required, shall be, or should be installed, then the dealer is responsible to 
install it, unless properly waived on the bill of sale. 

 
d. The installation manual will contain instructions as to how to support the heat crossover duct under the home. 

 
e. Drain lines that are installed on site are required to be strapped and supported every four (4) feet with the proper 

strapping.  Other critical drain line instructions are presented in the manual. 
 

f. All plastic must be removed from the end walls and the marriage line wall of a manufactured home before assembly.   
 

g. Air conditioner wiring must be installed inside the bottom board, or secured in conduit and supported to the floor joist 
or chassis every four (4) feet. 

 
h. Refer to installation manual for correct marriage line fastening, and vinyl siding installation, etc.  

 
14. Each manufacturer shall provide a homeowner’s manual with each manufactured home.  No dealer or distributor may 

interfere with the distribution of homeowner’s manual.  Where necessary, the dealer or distributor shall take any 
appropriate steps to ensure that the purchaser receives a homeowner’s manual. 

 
15. A dealer cannot require any person to arrange financing or utilize the services of any particular financing service as a 

condition to purchasing any manufactured home or modular unit, provided, however, the registered manufacturer or 
dealer may reserve the right to establish reasonable conditions for the approval of any financing source. 

 
16. The books, records, inventory and premises of dealers of new and used manufactured homes and modular units shall from 

time to time, during normal business hours, be subject to an inspection by the Director to ascertain if a manufacturer or 
dealer is complying with Chapter 700, RSMo. (1986), and all applicable federal laws as they relate to new and used 
manufactured homes and modular units. 
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17. A dealer is required to forward to the manufacturer every complaint and other information that may indicate the existence 
of an imminent safety hazard, serious defect, defect, or noncompliance in a home, whether the dealer provides the service 
work or not.  Sources of information include consumer complaints, transportation inspection reports, etc. 

 
18. A dealer is required to complete and send back to the manufacturer the homeowner information card. This card should be 

in the homeowner’s manual.  If the information card is not available, the dealer should obtain the information which the 
card would require and send it to the manufacturer in an appropriate format and notify the manufacturer of this problem. 

 
19. A dealer is required to maintain complete records of all corrections authorized by the manufacturer.  Also, maintain 

complete records of alterations if it is discovered that the alterations have caused a failure to conform or an imminent 
safety hazard. 

 
20. The Formaldehyde Notice must not be removed until the sales transaction has been completed, and when all the goods 

and services agreed upon in the contract have been provided. 
 
21. All manufactured homes and modular units located in this state shall be anchored and tied down in accordance with the 

standards promulgated by the commission pursuant to the provisions of Sections 700.010 to 700.115.  If the dealer 
includes anchoring the home as part of the sale it must be in compliance with the code and all new HUD homes must be 
anchored by a licensed installer.  All homes manufactured after June 15, 1976 must have a set up manual that will indicate 
the proper location for the anchors. 

 
22. The commission shall approve or have approved, prior to being sold, being offered for sale or being installed, any anchor 

or tie-down system designed and intended for manufactured or modular homes.  Before any such system shall be sold, 
offered for sale, or installed, a letter of approval from the commission or its authorized agent approving the particular 
system or complying with the Missouri standards shall be prominently displayed at each place of business selling, offering 
for sale, or installing such system, and a copy shall be furnished to each person purchasing the anchor or tie-down system. 
Refer to www.psc.mo.gov/manufacturedhousing for a complete list of approved anchoring systems. 

 
23. Following are some important factors a dealer and licensed installer should know before anchoring a home: 
 

a. Refer to the manufacturer’s installation instructions to determine anchor spacing, and the distance from each end the 
first anchors are to be installed. 

 
b. The anchor installer must know the soil classification to ensure that the proper anchor is being installed. 

 
c. The anchor strap must wrap the frame and come off the top of the frame at a forty to fifty degree angle to the 

anchor, unless an approved frame bracket is used. 
 

d. Anchors are to be installed in line with the strap or have a concrete collar or a stabilizing device installed. 
 

e. The anchor is to be installed to the full depth (i.e.; the anchor head must rest on the ground). 
 

f. Make sure frame anchors are at the right distance from the frame to allow the proper strap angle as required in the 
installation manual. 

 

http://www.psc.mo.gov/manufacturedhousing.asp
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g. If a manufactured home contains over the roof straps, they are required to be utilized and anchored. 
 

h. If two straps are used on one anchor, the anchor must be approved for dual straps.  Refer to the anchor approval 
letter to find this information. 

 
i. Beginning October 20, 2008, all anchors must meet the new HUD standards under HUD code 3285.402(b) which 

requires galvanization protection. 
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