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TO: Manufactured Home Installers
FROM: Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program
DATE: April 22, 2022

SUBJECT: Renewal of Installer License July 1, 2022 — June 30, 2023

All HUD Installer registrations will expire on June 30, 2022. In order to renew, complete the
enclosed installer renewal application ensuring the installer's name, address, phone number, email
address, etc., are printed legibly and correctly. Submit your application by June 1, 2022, to allow your
application to be processed in a timely manner. Review the requirements listed on the renewal
application and submit the requested information. The license renewal fee is $150. Installers are
required to attend a continuing education class every three (3) years. All monthly decal reports must
be up-to-date with the Commission. (Renewal packets are available on our webpage at
www.psc.mo.gov; Manufactured Housing tab, Installer Information link. Information can be typed into
these forms and printed.)

Each applicant must submit a “Certificate of Liability Insurance” from their insurance company
(a_sample has been included as a reference) showing proof of current insurance coverage for
General Liability Insurance ($300,000). Also, submit proof of Workers’ Compensation
Insurance, if applicable. The “Certificate of Liability Insurance” must indicate dates of coverage and
amount of insurance coverage. Pursuant to Section 287.061 RSMo from the Division of Workers’
Compensation (573-751-4231), if there is no Workers’ Compensation Insurance, an Affidavit of
Exemption of Workers’ Compensation Insurance must be submitted (see renewal packet).

Installers may be covered by their employer’s insurance, submit a copy of the employer’s “Certificate
of Liability Insurance and Workers’ Compensation Insurance” reflecting the name of the insured, type
of coverage, current coverage period and coverage amounts. In the event employment ends with this
employer prior to the installer’s registration expiration date, the installer’s license will be inactive and
the installer must obtain their own coverage and provide proof of insurance.

Additional information has been included regarding “Site Preparation Guidelines” and
“Assignment of Responsibilities for Connection of Utilities on a new HUD manufactured
home.”

Informed Consumers, Quality Utility Services, and a Dedicated Organization for Missourians in the 21st Century



Missouri Public Service Commission
Application for Manufactured Home Installer License

Complete the form completely and legibly.

PSC OFFICE USE ONLY Transmittal No.: Check No.: Check Amt

GENERAL INFORMATION

= |Installer licenses are issued to an individual only

= License fee is $150 per licensee. (Make Checks Payable To: Missouri Director of Revenue)

= |[nstaller License is valid until June 30.

= Licenses are not transferable.

= Licensee shall notify the Commission in writing within 30 days of any change of information required on this form.

SECTION A | LICENSE INFORMATION

Check one:
O New - Installer License Installer License #:
O Renewal - Installer License

SECTION B | INSTALLER INFORMATION

Installer Name: Email Address:

Installer Address/City/State/Zip:

County: Phone Number: Fax Number:

SECTION C | INSTALLER’S EMPLOYMENT | [0 Check here if license is being required by an employer. Complete employer information.

Employer's Name:

Employer's Address/City/State/Zip:

Phone Number: Fax Number: Email Address:

CHECK-OFF REQUIRED ITEMS LISTED BELOW TO INSURE ALL NEEDED INFORMATION IS SUBMITTED:

1. Completed Application (Sections A, B, D, E, F and C, if applicable)
2. Application fee of $150 (Make Checks Payable To: Missouri Director of Revenue)
3. Certification - Copy of Continuing Education Certificate (8 hrs. mandatory); as required every 3 year
4. Proof of General Liability Insurance ($300,000) for the current licensing year (copy of the Certificate of Liability Insurance)
5a. Proof of Workman’'s Compensation Insurance for the current licensing year (copy of the Certificate of Liability Insurance) OR
5b. Exemption for Workers’ Compensation Insurance, submit a notarized affidavit (included) of exemption for Workers’ Compensation Insurance pursuant
to 287.061 RSMo, Division of Workers’ Compensation. (Questions concerning eligibility for Exemption to Workers’ Compensation contact Division of
Workers’ Compensation at (573) 751-4231.)
| am claiming exemption under Section 287 for Workers’ Compensation for the following reason: (check one)
Sole Proprietor with no employees
Partner in a partnership with no employees
A corporation that has filed a Notice of Election with the Division of Worker's Compensation (include a copy of the Notice of Election).

ocooodpbo

SECTIOND | FELONY INFORMATION:

Within the preceding ten (10) years, have you ever been convicted in any Federal or State court of a felony relating to the acquisition or transfer of a manufactured
home or any other form of property? [0 No [0 Yes (If yes, provide: the date, court, conviction, sentence on separate sheet.)

SECTIONE | MISDEMEANOR INFORMATION:

Within the preceding five (5) years, have you ever been convicted in any Federal or State court of a misdemeanor relating to the acquisition or transfer of a
manufactured home or any other form of property? [0 No [ Yes (If yes, provide: the date, court, conviction, sentence on separate sheet.)

| CERTIFY that all statements and information furnished regarding this application are true, complete and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief, and are
made in good faith. | understand that statements or information furnished on this form are subject to verification by the program director and | agree to furnish
supporting documents or information when so requested.

SECTION F Signature Date

Mail completed application and required documentation along with fee to:
Missouri Public Service Commission, Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program, P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: 800-819-3180 Fax: 573-522-2509

5.4.16



ACORD'

CERTIFICATE OF LIABILITY INSURANCE

DATE (MM/DDIYYYY)

REPRESENTATIVE OR PRODUCER, AND THE CERTIFICATE HOLDER.
" IMPORTANT: If the certificate holder Is an A

THIS CERTIFICATE IS ISSUED AS A MATTER OF INFORMATION ONLY AND CONFERS NO RIGHTS UPON THE CERTIFICATE HOLDER. THIS
CERTIFICATE DOES NOT AFFIRMATIVELY OR NEGATIVELY AMEND, EXTEND OR ALTER THE COVERAGE AFFORDED BY THE POLICIES
BELOW. THIS CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE DOES NOT CONSTITUTE A CONTRACT BETWEEN THE ISSUING INSURER(S), AUTHORIZED

must have A provisions or be endorsed,

If SUBROGATION IS WAIVED, subject to the terms and conditions of the policy, certain policies may require an endorsement. A statement on
this certificate does not confer rights to the certificate holder in lieu of such endorsement(s).
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THIS 15 TO CERTIFY THAT THE POLICIES OF | E LISTED BELOW HAVE BEEN I1SSUED TO THE INSURED NAMED ABOVE FOR Tl ERIOD
INDICATED. NOTWITHSTANDING ANY REQUIREMENT, TERM OR CONDITION OF ANY CONTRACT OR OTHER DOCUMENT WITH RESPECT HTHIS
CERTIFICATE MAY BE ISSUED OR MAY PERTAIN, THE INSURANCE AFFORDED BY THE POLICIES DESCRIBED HEREIN IS SUBJECT TO ALL TH
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MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS
DIVISION OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

AFFIDAVIT OF EXEMPTION FOR WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE
PURSUANT TO § 287.061, RSMo

Before me, the undersigned authority, personally appeared

Name of Affiant

who, being duly sworn on this oath states as follows:

1. My name is . Iam of legal age and sound mind, capable of making this
affidavit, and personally acquainted with the facts herein stated. I understand that by submitting this affidavit to the
city or county for an occupational or business license as a contractor in the construction industry, I am stating that my
business is exempt from carrying workers’ compensation insurance coverage.

2. I am the sole proprietor, owner or partner of ,

Name of Business
a business engaged in construction industry that is not required to purchase workers’ compensation insurance
coverage for the following reason:
(Check One)
[ ] Tamasole proprietor and have no “employees” as defined under the law, see page 2.
[ lIama partner in a partnership with no “employees” as defined under the law, see page 2.
[ ] 1have filed a Notice of Employer’s Exemption with the Missouri Division of Workers” Compensation (Division)
for to be withdrawn from
Name of Corporation
coverage because there are no more than two owners of the corporation who are also the only employees of the
corporation. A copy of the acknowledgement letter from the Division dated is enclosed.
Date
Further, I have not filed a notice to withdraw this exemption for my corporation with the Division and my corporation
has no other workers’ compensation insurance coverage.

3. Thave read and reviewed the concept of “statutory employment” explained on pages 2-3. My business operation is not
being carried out by persons who may be regarded as statutory employees.

4. I understand that providing fraudulent information on this affidavit is unlawful under §§287.128, 287.061(3),
570.090, 575.040, 575.050, and/or 575.060, RSMo, and may be either a misdemeanor or a felony, punishable by
imprisonment and fine, as indicated on page 3.

Affiant Date
STATE OF MISSOURI )
)
COUNTY OF )
Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of ,20

My Commission Expires:

Notary Public (SEAL)

WC-134 (01-18) Al



Affidavit of Exemption for Workers’ Compensation Insurance
Applicable Statutory Provisions and Guidelines to be followed

The Division has developed the “Affidavit of Exemption for Workers” Compensation Insurance Pursuant to §287.061,
RSMo” that is required to be filed by a contractor in the construction industry when he/she applies for an occupational or
business license in any city or county only if the contractor does not have proof of workers’ compensation insurance
coverage. If a contractor fails to comply with the requirements relating to providing proof of coverage or completing the
“Affidavit of Exemption” form, he/she shall be denied the business license until the contractor obtains a certificate of
insurance. If the contractor submits the “Affidavit of Exemption” form to obtain the business license he/she should
familiarize himself/herself with the following key statutory provisions. Those who are unsure as to whether they may
lawfully submit such affidavit should seek competent legal advice.

Every employer who is subject to the requirements of chapter 287, RSMo must insure its workers’ compensation liability
with an insurance company authorized to insure such liabilities in the state of Missouri by the Missouri Department of
Insurance, Financial Institutions, and Professional Registration or meet the Division’s requirements to be self-insured. If
an employer fails to obtain the insurance coverage he/she may be held liable to an injured employee for all of the benefits
under the Law in either a civil law suit or in an administrative proceeding before the Division.

Employee: §287.020, RSMo: The definition of "employee" includes both full- and part-time employees, and includes
every person in the service of an employer under any contract of hire, express or implied, oral or written, or under any
appointment or election, including executive officers of a corporation. It includes minors, whether or not they are
employed in violation of the law, and family members. It may include volunteer workers who do not receive any income
or compensation unless the exception noted below applies.

Please Note: As an exception, the workers’ compensation law does not apply to volunteers if:

e The entity is a tax-exempt organization which operates under the standards of section 501(c)(3) or 501(c)(19) of
the federal Internal Revenue Code;

e The volunteers are not paid wages; and
e The volunteers provide services purely on a charitable and voluntary basis.

All three requirements must be met in order for a volunteer worker not to be classified as an employee under §287.020,
RSMo.

Employer: §287.030, RSMo, which defines “employer,” includes a very broad category and states that every employer
who has five or more employees must carry workers’ compensation insurance with one exception for construction
industry employers who erect, alter, demolish or repair improvements who must purchase workers’ compensation
insurance if they have one or more employees.

Sole Proprietor and Partner: §287.035, RSMo, provides that natural persons who are sole proprietors or partners are
employers and are not required to purchase workers’ compensation insurance on themselves but they may voluntarily
choose to do so. Further, close relatives by blood or marriage of sole proprietors or partners may be withdrawn from
coverage but, under §287.030, these relatives are still considered to be “countable” employees. Note that these provisions
do not apply if the business is a corporation or a Limited Liability Company [LLC].

Corporate Exemption (Two Owners/Employees): §287.090.5, RSMo. A corporation may withdraw from the
provisions of this chapter, when there are no more than two owners of the corporation who are also the only employees of
the corporation, by filing with the Division a notice of election to be withdrawn. The election shall take effect and
continue from the date of filing with the Division by the corporation of the notice of withdrawal from liability under this
chapter. Any corporation making such an election may withdraw its election by filing with the Division a notice to
withdraw the election, which shall take effect thirty days after the date of the filing or at such later date as may be
specified in the notice of withdrawal.

WC-134-2 (01-18) Al



"S" Corporations: Effective January 1, 2018, a shareholder in an "S" Corporation (as defined by Section 143.471.1,
RSMo) who owns at least 40% of the outstanding stock in that corporation may individually reject workers' compensation
insurance coverage for himself or herself by giving written notice of such rejection to the corporation and its workers'
compensation insurer. See, Section 287.037.2, RSMo, as amended in 2017. However, there have been no changes in the
law as to which employees are "countable" and which businesses are required to carry workers' compensation insurance
coverage. So, if the "S" Corporation operates in the construction industry (it erects, demolishes, alters or repairs
improvements), there still must be a workers' compensation insurance policy in force on the corporation itself and on any
of its employees who are not eligible to reject individual coverage on themselves - unless the corporation has no more
than two owners who are also the corporation's only employees and it has notified the Division of Workers' Compensation
that is has withdrawn from the provisions of the Missouri Workers' Compensation Law, as allowed by Section 287.090.5
RMSo. Likewise, an "S" Corporation operating in any industry other than construction that has at least five or more
employees still must have a workers' compensation insurance policy in force on the corporation itself and on any of its
employees who are not eligible to reject individual coverage on themselves. See, Sections 287.030.1(3), RSMo.

Statutory Employer: §287.040, RSMo, provides that certain independent contractors may be considered to be
“employees” of the person who hired them for workers’ compensation purposes, under the legal principle known as
“statutory employment.” Missouri Law does not define “independent contractor.” Missouri courts use three factors to
determine when a statutory employment relationship exists: (1) the work is performed pursuant to a contract; (2) the
injury occurs on or about the premises of the statutory employer; and (3) the work is in the usual course of the statutory
employer’s business. An employer cannot avoid its workers’ compensation liability by hiring independent contractors to
perform jobs that would otherwise be performed by its employees. A contract need not be in writing. The Missouri courts
have ruled that the “employer’s premises” can include a location where the employer is carrying on its business
temporarily. As a construction industry employer you may be held responsible to pay workers’ compensation benefits to
an independent contractor or uninsured subcontractor or their employees. The immediate contractor or subcontractor is
liable as an employer of the employees of the subcontractor. The liability of the immediate employer is primary and that
of the others is secondary and any compensation benefits that are paid by those who are secondarily liable may be
recovered from those primarily liable.

Please Note: A general contractor can require subcontractors to carry workers’ compensation insurance. Generally, the
Law says that the general contractor is liable for any injuries sustained by uninsured subcontractors or their uninsured
employees (§287.040, RSMo). Because of this, the general contractor’s insurer will charge an additional premium if the
subcontractor cannot provide proof of coverage, even if the subcontractor has no employees. If the general contractor says
he/she will not hire the subcontractor unless he/she has a policy and insures himself/herself, the subcontractor would need
to buy a policy covering their business or himself/herself or work for a general contractor who does not make this a
requirement.

Criminal Penalties: §287.128, RSMo makes it unlawful for any person to knowingly make or cause to be made any false
or fraudulent material statement or material representation for the purpose of obtaining or denying any benefit. This is
considered a class E felony punishable by fine up to $10,000 or double the value of the fraud whichever is greater. A
subsequent violation is a class D felony.

Any person who knowingly misrepresents any fact in order to obtain workers' compensation insurance at less than the
proper rate for that insurance shall be guilty of a class A misdemeanor. A subsequent violation is a class E felony. Any
employer who knowingly fails to insure his liability pursuant to this chapter shall be guilty of a class A misdemeanor and,
in addition, is liable to the state of Missouri for a penalty in an amount up to three times the annual premium the employer
would have paid had such employer been insured or up to $50,000, whichever amount is greater. A subsequent violation
is aclass E felony.

Further, providing false information with the intent to deceive also can constitute a felony under §§570.090 (Forgery) and

575.040 (Perjury), and a misdemeanor under §§575.050 (False Affidavit) and 575.060 (False Declaration).

Missouri Division of Workers’ Compensation is an equal opportunity employer/program.
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
TDD/TTY: 800-735-2966 Relay Missouri: 711

WC-134-3 (01-18) Al



SITE PREPARATION GUIDELINES

New HUD homes are required to be installed
by an installer licensed with the Manufactured
Housing and Modular Units Program

in the State of Missouri

https://psc.mo.gov/ManufacturedHousing/

Site Preparation Guidelines:

The area under the home must be crowned with
dirt/gravel/chat to ensure that any water under
the home runs to the perimeter.

Grade so there are no holes or depressions under
the home. Cover the ground under the home with
a 6-mil polyethylene vapor barrier.

All four sides are graded to direct water away from
the home with a minimum slope of % inch per foot
for the first 10 feet. When this slope cannot be
achieved, swales, drain tiles, retaining walls, etc.,
should be used to divert water away from the
foundation. Drain tiles should terminate past the
corners of the home.

Gutters and downspouts when installed must
extend past the corners of the home.

Foundation - Footings Guidelines:

Foundation, footings and runners must be poured
below frost grade — all grass and debris must be
removed from the site before installation.
Depending on soil capacity and spacing of piers,
the diameter of footings will vary typically 24”-28".
Forming the footing(s) 4” to 6” above grade will

help to achieve the required fall away from the site.

Slab - Runners Guidelines:

Slab 6” minimum poured in place concrete — all
grass and debris removed from the site.

Slab is to be supported by a below frost grade
perimeter footing.

Runners to be poured below frost grade or 6”
minimum with a below frost grade perimeter
footing.

Frost Depth Map

Note: [feme local jurisdictions may require the footing(s) to be ar a grearer depth than what is required by the PSC.
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Anchoring Guidelines:

Anchors must be approved by the State of Missouri

A single wide unit with concrete anchors installed
requires approximately 1.2 yards of concrete per
anchor. If ground anchors are installed the soil must be
tested to determine the correct anchor to use.

Protect vertical and diagonal strapping at sharp corners
by use of radius clips or other means. Tie-down straps
are to be installed with a 40 to 50 degree angle.
Longitudinal anchoring is required in Missouri.
Installation of an anchor system refer to anchor
manufacturer instructions for number and location of
systems as length, roof pitch, and wall height may
require additional systems. Single wide homes require
anchors within 2 ft. of each end in addition to the
systems.

This is not a complete list of all the requirements

necessary to set a new HUD home.

Refer to 3285 Model Manufactured Home Installation

Standards.

New HUD homes must be installed by a licensed installer with the Manufactured Housing and Modular Units Program in the state of Missouri.
Chapter 700 RSMo "No person shall engage in the business of installing manufactured homes or hold himself or herself out as a manufactured
home installer in this state unless such person holds a valid license issued by the commission pursuant to Sections 700.650 to 700.680. A decal
shall be affixed to the manufactured home in a permanent manner in a visible location within two feet (2') of the Housing and Urban development

(HUD) label. 4 CSR 240-125.070.

All utilities to be connected and tested by a qualified person (licensed Missouri installer or licensed electrician / licensed plumber). The electrical
connection must be a 4-wire feeder system installed in conduit buried 18 inches or direct buried 24 inches (IRC 2015). DWV pipe 1/4” per foot
slope, or a minimum 1/8" per foot and install a full-size clean-out at the upper most point of the run with plumbing straps 4' o.c. The water line
needs to be insulated/heat taped with a shut-off valve installed between the water supply and the inlet under or adjacent to the home.

The federal frost depth map referenced above is to be used unless the county or municipality where the home is sited has a more

stringent requirement then you are to adhere to those requirements.

05/01/18 MHMUP


https://psc.mo.gov/ManufacturedHousing/

Assignment of Responsibility for Connection of Utilities on a hew HUD manufactured home

The dealer is responsible to make the proper arrangements for the connection of the utilities (electric, water
and gas) on a new HUD manufactured home.

Only qualified personnel familiar with local requirements are permitted to make utility site connections and
conduct tests. 3285.904(b) Model Manufactured Home Installation Standards

A licensed installer is exempt from doing the onsite plumbing or electrical work, if the person performing
such work holds a valid license from the local jurisdiction to perform such work.
CSR 240-125.030(1)(E)

The dealer is to arrange for a Missouri manufactured housing installer licensed with the Missouri Public Service
Commission who is qualified to connect the utilities and conduct the tests; unless they are regulated by local
jurisdictions; or the dealer is to arrange for a person who holds a valid license from the local jurisdiction to
perform such work. A decal will be installed in the home by the primary licensed Missouri manufactured
housing installer, and the person connecting the utilities and conducting the tests will sign the decal with their
license number and date of connection and tests. The person connecting the utilities is responsible to check
for any additional requirements as set forth by the county or municipality where the home is sited.

It is recommended that the dealer retain a copy of the liability and workman’s compensation insurance
coverage that specifically includes coverage for connecting utilities from the person doing the onsite utility
connections.

The home must be grounded to protect the occupants. The only safe and approved method of grounding the
home is through an electrically-isolated ground bar in the home’s distribution panel board. This grounds all
non-current carrying metal parts to the electrical system in the home at a single point. The ground conductor
of the power supply feeder cable in turn connects the grounding bar to a good electrical ground back through
the power supply system. Therefore, for 120/240 volt service a four- wire power supply feeder cable is
required.

Electrical Service to a new HUD manufactured home to include the following:

o 4-wire power supply feeder cable —in good condition with no bare wires or damaged insulation

e main service entrance wires are to be installed in rigid metal conduit, intermediate metal conduit,
Schedule 80 rigid nonmetallic conduit - PVC/DWV water pipe is not permitted

® main service entrance wires to be rated for direct burial or conduit shall be installed and buried a
minimum of twenty-four (24) inches below grade from the point of service to the drop under the
home Section 300.5 NEC 2008

e ground wire to be a green insulated wire installed in electrical conduit with the other electrical service
wires or a bare copper ground wire ran separately not in conduit (refer to manufacturers installation
manual for proper size of ground wire and other details specific to the home)

e splice connectors must be approved connectors installed in a junction box

No other wires (including the wire for the air conditioner) will be allowed in the service raceway on the home
as this is designated for the main service entrance wires only.

02/21/2018 MHMUP
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