Missouri Public Service Commission
Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Department

MANUFACTURED HOUSING NEW DEALER REQUIREMENTS
WWW.psc.mo.gov; Manufactured Housing tab

An annual registration is REQUIRED with the Missouri Secretary of State’s Office for all Corporations, LLC’s, or LP’s
affiliated with a Dealer, who is doing business in the state of Missouri, prior to being registered with this department. A
Fictitious Name registration is REQUIRED to be filed with that office if the Dealership is doing business under a different
name than the Corporation, LLC or LP. To obtain this registration, contact their department @ 573-751-4153 or visit their
website @ www.sos.mo.gov. NOTE: The name of the Dealer, Corporation, LLC, or LP listed on the renewal application
must coincide with the name listed on the documents filed with the Missouri Secretary of State’s Office.

REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS

A Application for Dealer Registration — This form must be completed in full, signed and dated.

A Fee — Please submit a check or money order in the amount of $200 made out to the Missouri Director of Revenue.
Each dealer lot must be registered separately each paying a separate $200 fee.

A Statement of No Taxes Due — a Statement of No Taxes Due must be submitted with each application. To obtain a
copy from the Missouri Department of Revenue, call 573-751-9268. If you have a Missouri Tax ID number, you need

to submit this document. If not, you must submit an Affidavit in lieu of the Statement. Contact the department @
800-819-3180 to obtain this document.

A Certificate of Good Standing — Corporations, LLC's & Partnerships must submit a Certificate of Good Standing
obtained from the Missouri Secretary of State at 573-751-4153.

A Articles of Incorporation — All corporations must submit a copy of their Articles of Incorporation for the initial

registration only. It is not necessary to resubmit these documents for renewals unless changes have been made to
the documentation.

A Corporations Only — All corporations must submit a copy of By-Laws and Articles of Incorporation for the initial

registration. It is not necessary to resubmit these documents for renewals unless changes have been made to the
documentation.

FORM INFORMATION

A Dealer Monthly Sales Report Form — This form must be completed and submitted to the Missouri Public Service
Commission by the 10th day of each month to report the number of new and used homes delivered to consumers
(sold) during the previous month. This report needs to be submitted every month, even if no homes were delivered
to consumers (sold) during the previous month. Also, when submitting reports, DO NOT combine reports. Each
month must be reported on a separate form. Please request or make additional copies as needed.

4 Anchor Approval Letters — These are anchoring systems that have been approved by the Missouri Public Service
Commission. The anchor approval letter of the particular system being used must be prominently displayed at each
place of business that is selling, offering for sale, or installing the anchoring system. A copy of this letter shall also be
furnished to each person purchasing the anchor or tie-down system. Please request or make additional copies as
needed. To review all anchor approval letters, visit our website at www.psc.mo.gov.

A Application for Permission to Alter a Manufactured Home or Modular Unit — A dealer must submit this form prior
to altering a manufactured home or Modular Unit. Pursuant to Chapter 700.025 “No dealer, manufacturer or their
representative shall alter or cause to be altered any new manufactured home or modular unit or used modular unit
used for educational purposes to which a seal has been affixed, if such alteration or conversion causes the
manufactured home or modular unit to be in violation of the code.”

A For Your Information - This form outlines some of the dealer’s responsibilities and provides helpful information
regarding the operation of a dealership.

Revised: 11/02/12
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Missouri Public Service Commission

Application for Manufactured Home or
Modular Unit Certificate of Dealer Registration

Transmittal Number (PSC Office Use Only) Check Number (PSC Office Use Only) Check Amount (PSC Office Use Only)

[ New Application [ Renewal If Renewal, Registration Number: O Manufactured (HUD) Home Dealer
O Modular Unit Dealer

DEALERSHIP INFORMATION CORPORATION / LLC / PARTNERSHIP INFORMATION

Dealership Name Corporate / LLC / Partnership Name

Street Address of Business (Physical Location) Address

City State Zip Code County City State Zip Code

Phone Fax Phone Fax FEIN

Dealership E-mail Corporate E-mail

Dealer Mailing Address, if different than above Corporate / LLC / Partnership Mailing Address, if different than above

City State Zip Code County City State Zip Code

PREVIOUS DEALERSHIP INFO - Have you previously owned a dealership under a name other than what is listed above? [0 No [ Yes

If yes, please list previously owned dealership(s) name & address:

Type of Ownership (Check One) If a Corporation, State of Incorporation

Oindividual/Sole Proprietorships ClPartnership CCorporation (1 LLC Company

DEALER REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS:
1. Complete entire application, including signature and date (Required — All Dealers)
2. Provide “Statement of No Taxes Due” — to acquire statement call the Department of Revenue @ 1-573-751-9268. (Required — All Dealers)
(If the dealer does not have a Missouri Tax ID Number subject to Missouri Sales Tax under Chapter 144 RSMo, complete the enclosed affidavit in lieu of
“Statement of No Taxes Due” letter.)
Provide “Certificate of Good Standing” - Call the Secretary of State’s Office at 573-751-4153 (Required - ONLY for Corporations, LLCs, and Partnerships)
Provide a copy of “Articles of Incorporation” and “Company By-Laws” (Required — ONLY for Corporations initial registration)
Registration Fee: $200, made payable to: Missouri Director of Revenue (Required — All Dealers)
6. MAIL: Application, Supporting Documents, and Registration Fee to: Department of Manufactured Housing, PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102

CREECY)

LIST OWNERS BELOW If a Partnership or LLC, list name/address of each partner. If a Corporation, list names/addressesttitles of principal officers.

Owner(s) Name (Last, First, MI) Mailing Address City State Zip Code Title

INSTALLERS - List Name(s) and License Number(s) of Certified Installer(s) performing your new HUD home installations:

FELONY INFORMATION (Check Box)

Has owner (or any partner, if partnership, or officer, if corporation) within the preceding ten (10) years been convicted in any Federal or State court of a felony

relating to the acquisition or transfer of a manufactured home or any other form of property? 0 No O Yes
If yes, provide the Date Court Conviction Sentence
following

MISDEMEANOR INFORMATION (Check Box)

Has owner (or any partner, if partnership, or officer, if corporation) within the preceding five (5) years been convicted in any Federal or State court of a
misdemeanor relating to the acquisition or transfer of a manufactured home or any other form of property? 1 No I Yes

If yes, provide the Date Court Conviction Sentence
following

CERTIFICATION

| CERTIFY that all statements and information furnished regarding this application are true, complete and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief, and
are made in good faith. | understand that statements or information furnished on this form are subject to verification by the program director and | agree to
furnish supporting documents or information when so requested. | do solemnly affirm and verify that the concern named herein is a bona fide dealer and |
have the authority to make the statements contained herein and to sign this application.

Signature of Owner, Partner, LLC, or Corporation Officer Date

Manufactured Housing Department, P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102 or 200 Madison St, 5 Floor, Jefferson City, MO 65101.
Phone: 800-819-3180 ¢ Fax: 573-522-2509
11/19/2013




FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Missouri Public Service Commission, Manufactured Housing Department
P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

In an on-going effort to help inform the manufactured housing retailers of current laws and regulations, the Manufactured Housing
Department of the Missouri Public Service Commission offers the following information. Please call 800-819-3180, if you have
questions.

1.

10.

1.

12.

‘Dealer” means any person, other than a manufacturer, who sells or offers for sale four (4) or more used homes or one (1) or more
new manufactured homes or one (1) or more new modular units in any consecutive 12-month period.

It is a misdemeanor for a manufacturer or dealer to manufacture, rent, lease, sell or offer to sell any manufactured home or
modular unit after January 1, 1977, unless they are registered with the commission.

It is @ misdemeanor to rent, lease, sell or offer to sell a new manufactured home, modular unit, or a unit used for education
purposes manufactured after January 1, 1974, which does not bear a seal as required by the provisions of Section 700.010 to
700.115, RSMo.

It is a misdemeanor to alter a new manufactured home or modular unit in a manner prohibited by the provisions of Sections
700.010 to 700.115, RSMo.

No certified new manufactured home which entered the first stage of production after November 22, 1976, on which an alteration
has been made, shall be rented, leased or sold, or offered for rent, lease, or sale in the state unless the alteration has been
approved in writing by the Manager of the Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program.

Approval of alterations must be requested by written application executed on a form provided by the Manufactured Housing
Program upon request. The person or entity that owns the new manufactured home that is being altered must submit the

application. Dealer alterations must be approved prior to work being completed and before delivery of the home to the sold location.

Manufactured homes are built to comply with the Federal Manufactured Home Construction and Safety Standards (commonly
known as the HUD code). Effective March 31, 2011, Modular units are to be built to comply with other standards as adopted by
the Commission using the criteria set forth by the 2009 International Building Code, the 2009 International Plumbing Code, the
2009 International Mechanical Code, the 2009 International Residential Code, 2009 International Fuel Gas Code, and the 2008
National Electric Code NFPA.

Effective January 1, 2011, every dealer or manufacturer who sells a modular home to be placed in Missouri is required to have the
purchaser of the modular unit sign and date an acknowledgement/waiver that the dealer or manufacturer has offered the fire
sprinkler system in conjunction with the sale of the home. The acknowledgement/waiver must be signed by both the purchaser and
the dealer or manufacturer or hisfher legal representative. The purchaser is responsible for the cost of the fire sprinkler system
being installed in the home.

Modular units include residential, commercial, educational, and industrial units.

It is @ misdemeanor to fail to correct a code violation in a new manufactured home or new modular unit owned, manufactured, or
sold within a reasonable time, not to exceed 90 days after being ordered to do so in writing by an authorized representative of the
commission, if the same is manufactured after January 1, 1974.

Dealers cannot require purchasers to purchase any type of insurance from that dealer as a condition of sale.

Effective July 1, 2005, all new manufactured HUD built homes must be installed by a Certified Licensed Installer who has obtained
a license from the commission.
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FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Missouri Public Service Commission, Manufactured Housing Department
P.0O. Box 360, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

13.

14.

1.

16.

17.

18.

The commission has determined that manufactured homes and modular units must be set up according to the manufacturer’s
installation manual. Installation manuals will contain instructions on all phases of assembly. Some of the more important factors
are as follows:

a. For proper blocking these factors must be considered; the size of the home, the load bearing capacity of each pier, the load
bearing capacity of the soil, the spacing required between each pier, if the home requires perimeter blocks at the doors,
windows, etc., and the maximum and minimum height a home can be blocked, etc.

b. If, as part of the sale, the dealer includes installing skirting on a manufactured home, it must be properly vented, and installed
by a licensed installer. Refer to the installation manual for the proper amount of venting required.

c. The installation manual will indicate the type and thickness of the vapor barrier that is to be installed under the home. A
vapor barrier is required to be installed by a licensed installer.

d. The installation manual will contain instructions as to how to support the heat crossover duct under the home.

e. Drain lines that are installed on site are required to be strapped and supported every four (4) feet with the proper strapping.
Other critical drain line instructions are presented in the manual.

f. Al plastic must be removed from the end walls and the marriage line wall of a manufactured home before assembly.

g. Air conditioner wiring must be installed inside the bottom board, or secured in conduit and supported to the floor joist or
chassis every four (4) feet. Refer to "Air Conditioner Installtion" link on main page of Manufactured Housing Website.

h. Refer to installation manual for correct marriage line fastening, and vinyl siding installation, etc.

Each manufacturer shall provide a homeowner’'s manual with each manufactured home. No dealer or distributor may interfere with
the distribution of homeowner’s manual. Where necessary, the dealer or distributor shall take any appropriate steps to ensure that
the purchaser receives a homeowner’s manual.

A dealer cannot require any person to arrange financing or utilize the services of any particular financing service as a condition to
purchasing any manufactured home or modular unit, provided, however, the registered manufacturer or dealer may reserve the
right to establish reasonable conditions for the approval of any financing source.

The books, records, inventory and premises of dealers of new and used manufactured homes and modular units shall from time to

time, during normal business hours, be subject to an inspection by the Manager to ascertain if a manufacturer or dealer is
complying with Chapter 700, RSMo. (1986), and all applicable federal laws as they relate to new and used manufactured homes
and modular units.

A dealer is required to forward to the manufacturer every complaint and other information that may indicate the existence of an
imminent safety hazard, serious defect, defect, or noncompliance in a home, whether the dealer provides the service work or not.
Sources of information include consumer complaints, tfransportation inspection reports, etc.

A dealer is required to complete and send back to the manufacturer the homeowner information card. This card should be in the

homeowner’s manual. If the information card is not available, the dealer should obtain the information which the card would
require and send it to the manufacturer in an appropriate format and notify the manufacturer of this problem.
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FOR YOUR INFORMATION

Missouri Public Service Commission, Manufactured Housing Department
P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

19. A dealer is required to maintain complete records of all corrections authorized by the manufacturer. Also, maintain complete
records of alterations if it is discovered that the alterations have caused a failure to conform or an imminent safety hazard.

20. The Formaldehyde Notice must not be removed until the sales transaction has been completed, and when all the goods and
services agreed upon in the contract have been provided.

21. All manufactured homes and modular units located in this state shall be anchored and tied down in accordance with the standards

promulgated by the commission pursuant to the provisions of Sections 700.010 to 700.115. Anchoring must be in compliance with
the code and all new HUD homes must be anchored by a licensed installer. All homes manufactured after June 15, 1976 must have

a set up manual that will indicate the proper location for the anchors.

22. The commission shall approve or have approved, prior to being sold, being offered for sale or being installed, any anchor or tie-
down system designed and intended for manufactured or modular homes. Before any such system shall be sold, offered for sale,
or installed, a letter of approval from the commission or its authorized agent approving the particular system or complying with the
Missouri standards shall be prominently displayed at each place of business selling, offering for sale, or installing such system,
and a copy shall be furnished to each person purchasing the anchor or tie-down system. Refer to: www.psc.mo.gov click on the
Manufactured Housing tab, Anchoring Information for a complete list of approved anchoring systems.

23. Following are some important factors a dealer and licensed installer should know before anchoring a home:

a. Refer to the manufacturer’s installation instructions to determine anchor spacing, and the distance from each end the first
anchors are to be installed.

b. The anchor installer must know the soil classification to ensure that the proper anchor is being installed.

c. The anchor strap must wrap the frame and come off the top of the frame at a forty to fifty degree angle to the anchor, unless
an approved frame bracket is used.

d. Anchors are to be installed in line with the strap or have a concrete collar or a stabilizing device installed.
e. The anchor is to be installed to the full depth (i.e.; the anchor head must rest on the ground).

f. Make sure frame anchors are at the right distance from the frame to allow the proper strap angle as required in the installation
manual.

g. Ifa manufactured home contains over the roof straps, they are required to be utilized and anchored.

h. If two straps are used on one anchor, the anchor must be approved for dual straps. Refer to the anchor approval letter to find
this information.

i.  Beginning October 20, 2008, all anchors must meet the new HUD standards under HUD code 3285.402(b) which requires
galvanization protection.

24. Air conditioner wire is not to be installed in the same conduit as the main service entrance wires. Dealer can order homes A/C
ready from the manufacturer, as well as basement and/or garage ready.

25. Main service entrance wires are to be direct burried 18" depth or installed in conduit. Insulated green ground can be installed in
the same conduit as main service entrance wires, bare copper ground should be installed in separate conduit or direct burry.
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Missouri Public Service Commission

Manufactured Housing & Modular Units Program
Application for Permission to Alter a
Manufactured Home or Modular Unit

Application required pursuant to Chapter 700.025

DEALER INFORMATION

Dealer Name:

Dealer Contact Name:

Dealer Address:

Dealer Phone:

Dealer Fax:

MANUFACTURER INFORMATION

Manufacturer Name:

Manufacturer Contact Name:

Manufacturer Address:

Manufacturer Phone: Manufacturer Fax:
HOME INFORMATION

Model Name: HUD Label #:

Serial #: or

Date of Manufacture: Modular Seal #:

ALTERATION SPECIFICATIONS — Describe the alteration you are seeking permission to make. (Attach additional sheet(s) if necessary.)

REQUIREMENTS - This application will not be approved unless all of the following items are submitted:

1. Manufacturer’s written instructions and/or approved method must be submitted.

2. An affidavit signed before a notary public indicating that the applicant will ensure that all alterations will comply with the required
code must accompany this application. This affidavit must identify the specific make, model and serial number of the home to be

altered.

3. Ifthe applicant is a corporation, a written statement from a corporate officer indicating that the person filling out this application has
actual authority to do so must accompany this application.

NOTES - (Please read.)

Chapter 700.025 states “No dealer, manufacturer or their representative shall alter or cause to be altered any new manufactured home or

modular unit or used modular unit used for educational purposes to which a seal has been affixed, if such alteration or conversion causes
the manufactured home or modular unit to be in violation of the code.”

SIGNATURE - (Required)

Signed

Date

Missouri Public Service Commission, Manufactured Housing Department, P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102, Phone: 800-819-3180 Fax: 573-522-2509

11/23/2010




	Transm ttal Number PSC Office Use Only: 
	Check Number PSC Office Use Only: 
	Check Amount PSC Office Use Only: 
	undefined: Off
	undefined_2: Off
	If Renewal Registration Number: 
	Manufactured HUD Home Dealer: Off
	Modular Unit Dealer: Off
	Dealership Name: 
	Corporate  LLC  Partnership Name: 
	Street Address of Business Phys cal Locat on: 
	Address: 
	C ty: 
	State: 
	Z p Code: 
	County: 
	C ty_2: 
	State_2: 
	Z p Code_2: 
	Phone: 
	Fax: 
	Phone_2: 
	Fax_2: 
	FEIN: 
	Dealership Ema: 
	Corporate Email: 
	Dealer Mai ng Address f different than above: 
	Corporate  LLC  Partnership Mai ng Address f different than above: 
	C ty_3: 
	State_3: 
	Z p Code_3: 
	County_2: 
	C ty_4: 
	State_4: 
	Z p Code_4: 
	PREVIOUS DEALERSHIP INFO Have you previously owned a dealership under a name other than what is listed above: Off
	Indiv: Off
	Partnership: Off
	Corporation: Off
	LLC Company: Off
	If a Corporat on State of Incorporat on: 
	Owners Name Last F rst MIRow1: 
	Mailing AddressRow1: 
	C tyRow1: 
	StateRow1: 
	Z p CodeRow1: 
	TitleRow1: 
	Owners Name Last F rst MIRow2: 
	Mailing AddressRow2: 
	C tyRow2: 
	StateRow2: 
	Z p CodeRow2: 
	TitleRow2: 
	Owners Name Last F rst MIRow3: 
	Mailing AddressRow3: 
	C tyRow3: 
	StateRow3: 
	Z p CodeRow3: 
	TitleRow3: 
	INSTALLERS  List Names and License Numbers of Certified Installers performing your new HUD home instal ations: 
	tion or transfer of a manufactured home or any other form of property: Off
	Date: 
	Court: 
	Convict on: 
	Sentence: 
	tion or transfer of a manufactured home or any other form of property_2: Off
	Date_2: 
	Court_2: 
	Convict on_2: 
	Sentence_2: 
	Signature of Owner Partner LLC or Corporation Officer: 
	Date_3: 


